Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is ridiculously amazing (IT REALLY IS), and easy. Read all the comments but stuck to the recipe, though I cooled at the shortbread stage, and at the caramel stage before spreading chocolate. I think if you are going to TOTALLY cool in between stages, at least SERVE at room temperature to ensure the layers don't separate when you bite into one. I think I just gained ten pounds and STILL I am making more. Thanks for making me fat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The family loved this - and it was pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are soooooooo good!!! I made them over the holidays with fabulous results. Everyone that tried them absolutely raved over them. They looked great too. My only advice is to allow enough time to let the layers cool before adding the next, especially between the shortbread and caramel. Yum!! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Definitely put in the Candy category. This is not a cookie and seems like a fat cousin of a Twix bar on steroids. It was very rich and way too sweet for us. I really liked the caramel and plan to use it for other desserts and pies. I would also suggest using the Williams-Sonoma Scotch Shortbread recipe for those who found the "crust" to be dry and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
So Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
the caramel was rock hard, turned to crumbs when I tried to cut it into pieces, flipped it over and cut from the bottom at least I could get "squares" tasted awesome but my son's friend lost a tooth on the caramel, think I will play with the caramel portion to see if I an get a better result, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Did not work out, the caramel all melted down into the shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AleciaShewchuk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These tasted SOOO delicious. However, I had problems with the shortbread layer being too crumbly. I tried several suggestions but they didn't seem to fix things. This didn't hurt the taste in any way. For presentation reasons, next time I'll try a different shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is great! One thing thought, give the squares enough time to cool and enough time for the chocolate to get hard. These caramel squares taste better with time! They were a favorite for my New Year party! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Don't waste your time making this as a single batch…these don't last long and then everyone will whine that they didn't get one. Amazingly yummy but then with that much butter they have to be…why I only make 'em during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States