Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Yum! Made these twice now and they are great as written, especially as the caramel layer isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Turns out a little like a twix bar. Very crumbly. Just un impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The caramel is too hard to easily bite into. It would be better to define the heat of the boil or less heat + shorter time = softer caramel! As following instructions "bring to a boil" apparently does not mean high heat. Just a slight boil probably would have been better(6-7) But since this wasn't defined well many people from looking at the reviews after, had the same problem! (HARD caramel not "chewy".) Cutting them into tiny pieces and letting them dissolve in your mouth works, but with the shortbread you want to chew, and you just can't. Refine the caramel recipe and these would be great! As for the chocolate chips you can't microwave it too long after the initial one minute or it will turn clumpy + crumbly rather the liquid smooth. A FIX: While i haven't tried this i'd suggest reheating for not longer then 20 seconds a max of 2 times. I reheated twice for about 50ish seconds- and that was too long! Again directions don't specify how long to reheat and if you do 1 minute, 2 or 3 times it will make your liquid smooth chocolate a solid crumbly mess. Basically too much heat ruins it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made these today to take to church. Amazing they were gone in no time. You have to try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Six hundred seventy seventh to comment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
These were really good, but I agree with the other reviewers, the chocolate topping needs to have milk or heavy cream added to make it work. The next time I make these I plan to drizzle the chocolate over the top and use semi-sweet to cut down on the sweetness. And reduce the recipe by about 20% so that these fit in an 8" X 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These are really easy, but you MUST allow time between each step for that layer to cool completely. SUPER sweet even using semi-sweet chocolate, so cut them small. I sprinkled sea salt on top of the chocolate before it set up, so mine were salted caramel shortbread bars. People LOVED them! And me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These were easy to make and yummy. I did use dark instead of milk chocolate to cut the sweetness. Maybe add a few chopped nuts on top for variety. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was yummy. For some reason my carmel dried very hard. It almost tasted like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was pretty good, but the caramel to shortbread ratio is off. If you follow the recipe, you'll get a super thin caramel layer. I suggest doubling the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States