Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
These were AMAZING!!! The only thing was - there are t specific instructions about the caramel layer (ie. should the burner be on medium heat? High heat? Should we stir the mixture? My original attempt at the caramel portion burned badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These were very good. The only complaint that I have is that the shortbread was too crumbly. Next time, I may add more butter to the shortbread to make it more moist and less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My mom has made these since I was a little girl...my favorite sweet of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very rich and great flavor! Made these with my son and they turned out great. We let the shortbread cool for about 15 minutes and then spread the caramel on while they were both still hot. The caramel mixture does burn if you have the heat too high. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These are really tasty. Just don't put them in the fridge they go like a rock and then you can't cut them. Also, I don't think during the 5 minutes boiling that the carmel should be touched but the recipe omitted that. But if you like shortbread, carmel and chocolate you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is an easy to follow receipe I'm not sure if I messed up somewhere though as my caramel was very firm maybe too firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Holy moly this was good! Yes, was. The first batch was exactly according to the recipe, and was a bit flat. Bland. I made a second, and sprinkled coarse sea salt over the caramel layer once it had cooled, and it added such nice depth and layers of flavour! So good. For the second batch I sped up the cooling steps by placing the pan outside in the BBQ (it's 10 below right now). A freezer would work just as well, but mine's full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I just made these and they were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. Some people were saying to freeze the shortbread before putting the caramel on top. I found that I put my shortbread in the fridge for about 3 minutes and I have zero problems. I think people may be forgetting that the directions say to stir the caramel vigorously for 3 minutes after removed from heat. Letting the caramel thicken a bit before putting it in the dish is important. The only thing I will do different next time will be to line the dish with parchment paper so the caramel doesn't stick to the dish. Also, I used semi sweet chips because that is what I have on hand. Really loved this and will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am a very experienced cook and baker. The caramel was very good. I lined the pan with non stick foil and it came right out. Upon cutting them, the shortbread crust just fell apart. It tasted very good, but because of the problem with the crust crumbling I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved it. Easy recipe. Made me look like a superstar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States