Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Great recipe! The only changes I made was to add .5 tsp. of salt & .5 tsp of vanilla to the caramel to give it a little more depth of flavour. Everyone I've served these to loves them. So easy to make I will definitely add them to my favs. Thanks Julia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I made it and it came out awesome, However i did a little tweek. After melting the chocolate chips for a minute, i added a teaspoon of water to it, this turned the chocolate into a crumbly type texture and i put that on the top, and my husband ate the whole thing before i could even get a slice. So hopefully i can at least get a chance to try my tweek next time. :) Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
do keep the stove on low while making the caramel, and did put tablespoon of butter in chocolate to help make it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
just made these for the first time. There was not enough of the caramel. Melted chocolate in double boiler with small amount of butter. Let layers cool between adding the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I followed the recipe as written except to double it. Amazing. No need to change anything, but be careful not to burn the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
It's so so good. I kept it exactly how it was except added condensed milk to the chocolate. I didn't mind that it was a thin layer of shortbread but other people might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Theses are amazing, luscious, addictive. Oh, so rich. I'm not a big dessert person and these are hard to stay away from. It's snowing and I'm home alone. All of a sudden I got excited about making these and realized I only have one stick of butter left! Off to the internet to see if there's any way to make the shortbread without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Prins Wolek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I only had a 8x8 Pan but still turned out wonderful! If i were to make this again i would put a few pinches of salt into the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I WISH I HAD NEVER FOUND THIS RECIPE!!! Because now everyone is asking me to make them some (more) and I JUST got back into my excercise routine. These things are ridiculously easy, and delicious to make. I gave you fair warning-!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Love this. I have made it twice. The first time it was a treat that I gave away at Christmas time. Made it last night for my spouse as a special request. I brought half of the batch into work because we would have just kept eating them and they were a hit!! Honestly, they are super easy to make!!! Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States