Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've been making these for many years and I definitely agree with the other reviewers about letting the shortbread completely cool before adding the caramel and then letting that completely cool before adding the chocolate. It can turn into a mess otherwise! I prefer them in a 9 x 13 pan just because they're so rich but they are extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These are unbelievable! Even better than my mother's! I made them for a party, and doubled the recipe, but I wish I'd kept a few for our family because they were irresistible! It's a time-consuming process, but well worth it if you want something a little bit special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
YUM!I also stirred the caramel mixture constantly until it reached soft ball stage in a cool cup of water, and I used white sugar because thats all I had. I also used candy coating on top instead of chocolate chips. = D thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were really good. The caramel tastes a little funny on its own, but in the bar it was rich and tasty. My chocoalte chips were melting a little grainy so I added some butter and cream which made it into a soft ganache layer instead of a harder chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
A very tempting idea, but the chocolate on top melts all over your fingers and it's tricky getting the caramel exactly right. I followed the directions exactly and my caramel got too hard. I wish I'd used my candy thermometer, rather than the directions. The bottom layer was quite thick, too, and it crumbled a lot. Again, great idea, but it just wasn't a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent! Allow time to cool in the fridge before cutting, and cut them into 1inch squares because they are very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very close to what I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was so decadent and delicious. I'm not sure the caramel portion of the square turned out right but it was good just the same. I doubled the recipe as suggested by past reviewers and used a 9x13 pan, but I'm ended up with a lot of shortbread bottom and little layers of chocolate and caramel. Next time I might tweak the measurements on the shortbread so I don't end up with such a large amount. Sticking the shortbread in the freezer/fridge was definitely helpful but make sure you stick it back in the fridge after adding the caramel and leave it in there for a sufficient amount of time for the caramel to REALLY firm up before adding the warm chocolate. End product is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These bars are excellent! I added a little more butter to the shortbread base to avoid the crumbly consistency that some people complained about. The filling was divine and I can see myself using it in other recipes. I used white chocolate for the topping and it tasted even better than a white chocolate Twix bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I modified this using another recipe that I had wanted to try, and they came out great!! I used 1 stick of butter, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 c of flour for the shortbread. Make sure this layer is completely cool before topping with caramel. I cheated the caramel layer and melted 1 14oz bag of caramels with 2 T of cream. I let this cool and then set completely (about an hour). Then, to solve the problem of the shortbread and caramel separating, i cut my pan in half and then sliced into about 1" piece logs and dipped them in the melted chocolate. I got about 20 bars from this recipe. These were a pretty good recplication of twix bars, and because i cut back on the amount of butter in the shortbread, I think they had just the right texture. They impressed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States