Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good. make sure to cut small pieces. It's very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Just remember to stir the caramel mixture while it's boiling, and not over too high a heat, or it can burn! Otherwise, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T but the shortbread fell away from the caramel and chocolate layer! Made a double batch so the whole thing is ruined. I've made another recipe version of millionare's shortbread and it came out fine before. This recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These were very easy to make. I lined my pan with parchment paper which made it super easy to get them out. The only problem I had, and I think it was my error was having a hard time getting the chocolate to melt to the perfect consistency to spread over the caramel! Other than that these little jewels tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
AWESOME!!! Made them for a friend in the hospital, and I had a hard time not eating them! They were a big hit for everyone visiting her. Definately adding this to my holiday cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These were perfect! Even my daughter, who never eats desserts liked them. My hubby went nuts. When I put the caramel on I stuck them in the fridge because I was short on time. I tried my hardest to wait for the chocolate to harden. They were a bit gooey when we first tried them and I thought they was too much chocolate. Once they chilled completely (I kept them in the fridge) they were evenly flavored. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've been making these for many years and I definitely agree with the other reviewers about letting the shortbread completely cool before adding the caramel and then letting that completely cool before adding the chocolate. It can turn into a mess otherwise! I prefer them in a 9 x 13 pan just because they're so rich but they are extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These are unbelievable! Even better than my mother's! I made them for a party, and doubled the recipe, but I wish I'd kept a few for our family because they were irresistible! It's a time-consuming process, but well worth it if you want something a little bit special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
YUM!I also stirred the caramel mixture constantly until it reached soft ball stage in a cool cup of water, and I used white sugar because thats all I had. I also used candy coating on top instead of chocolate chips. = D thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States