Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing, and soooooo easy to make. I had EVERYONE going crazy over them and asking for the recipe. I recommend using good quality chocolate on the top (I used Belgian) it really does make all the difference. It is such an amazing treat its a shame to have cheap quality chocolate spoil it. Seriously make this, you wont regret it. I cant emphasise enough how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have made this recipe 3 times now. These taste great but there are issues with the recipe. 1st of all, double the carmel and 2nd of all the instruction to put the chocolate in the microwave has NEVER worked for me. It turns out dry and crumbly. I always end up melting even more chocolate over the stove, adding butter to make it smooth and pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious! This will be a Christmas tradition at my house. Definitely double the recipe - these are too good to run out of! I made the recipe exactly as written except doubled. Put the caramel on the shortbread after it has cooled. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
i made this recipe exactly how it is here except i added a little bit of butter to the chocolate and they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I LOVE these! I used dark chocolate thinned with butter as someone suggested. I tried the double batch in a 9x13 but was confused about the baking time (I'm new to baking time). I thought they were way to rich and I love RICH. I made another batch following the directions except for the dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate. They came out perfect! Definitely put in the freezer between steps but don't let the chocolate get solid. I did that and when I tried to cut it it create a crack across the top. I turned the oven on for a few minutes and turned it off to soften the chocolate so I could finish cutting it. Oh and lining the pan with foil was a great suggestion! I just lifted it onto a cutting board. I'm new to baking so reading the reviews really help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
THE BEST TREAT I EVER ATE Seriously- as I mae the caramel - that is before my arm fell off from stirring so much, I could not believe how incredible the flavour of the caramel was. Thank you for sharing here. This is officially my new favourite recipe, hands down! I followed everyones tweaks too incl. cooling the shortbread and was beyond delighted with the results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM! I halved (loaf pan), parchment, freezer 10m between layers, easy peasy. I did have to bake the shortbread quite a bit longer. For the chocolate I did semi-sweet with coconut oil in micro, this always works beautifully. Next time I will double the caramel layer though. I also added a touch of cinnamon and also salt to the caramel and will do that again next time. Or I'll sprinkle the top with sea salt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious! So rich you only need a tiny square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I had a ton of requests for this after making it. I too used a 9x13 pan and lined with parchment paper before baking the crust, cooled my crust in the freezer for half hour before pouring the caramel on. I used good quality dark chocolate wafers and melted them with a tsp of shortening. To cut, use the biggest and sharpest knife you have. I had no problems with crumbling. This year I am going to add a layer of peanut butter/icing sugar mix on the crust, freeze and then add a caramel and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Excellent says it all! Make as written, no changes necessary. The crust balances the sweetness of the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States