Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These are really tasty. Just don't put them in the fridge they go like a rock and then you can't cut them. Also, I don't think during the 5 minutes boiling that the carmel should be touched but the recipe omitted that. But if you like shortbread, carmel and chocolate you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is an easy to follow receipe I'm not sure if I messed up somewhere though as my caramel was very firm maybe too firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Holy moly this was good! Yes, was. The first batch was exactly according to the recipe, and was a bit flat. Bland. I made a second, and sprinkled coarse sea salt over the caramel layer once it had cooled, and it added such nice depth and layers of flavour! So good. For the second batch I sped up the cooling steps by placing the pan outside in the BBQ (it's 10 below right now). A freezer would work just as well, but mine's full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I just made these and they were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. Some people were saying to freeze the shortbread before putting the caramel on top. I found that I put my shortbread in the fridge for about 3 minutes and I have zero problems. I think people may be forgetting that the directions say to stir the caramel vigorously for 3 minutes after removed from heat. Letting the caramel thicken a bit before putting it in the dish is important. The only thing I will do different next time will be to line the dish with parchment paper so the caramel doesn't stick to the dish. Also, I used semi sweet chips because that is what I have on hand. Really loved this and will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am a very experienced cook and baker. The caramel was very good. I lined the pan with non stick foil and it came right out. Upon cutting them, the shortbread crust just fell apart. It tasted very good, but because of the problem with the crust crumbling I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved it. Easy recipe. Made me look like a superstar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
HUGE hit for my holiday cookie extravaganza. Make sure to let them cool completely before cutting, so much easier! Next time, I will probably stick the shortbread batter back in the fridge for a few minutes before pressing into the pan. Makes the butter a little easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Such a light buttery Carmel. Very easy to make as well. I found adding some evaporated milk to melt with the chocolate chips helped the chocolate topping along to become a smoother silkier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I've made it a few times in different kitchens, and it is really forgiving. If you aren't in the U.S. this is also one of those rare recipes that doesn't really mind foreign ingredients. No corn syrup? No problem. Different grind of flour? Just make sure the dough feels crumbly but sticks together when pressed. No condensed milk? Boil regular milk with a few spoonfuls of butter - not the same, but it worked. This is also a really flexible base recipe. In the future I may make this with ginger and cardamom in the shortbread and white chocolate on top sprinkled with candied ginger. I'm sure this would be amazing with a rum caramel too. Do NOT use a double boiler for the caramel - it doesn't get hot enough. Stay with your pan, stir often, and pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe - easy to do but as one reviewer mentioned, a few details were missing. I cooled the shortbread in the fridge for 10 min while I worked on the caramel. I had used semi-sweet chocolate chips but it scorched too easily, so I finally used 70% baking chocolate which is less temperamental and worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States