Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Absolutely love it!! I followed the directions completely as written and I let the shortbread cool. Great! We say *thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for the first time with my 11 year old twins for a party we were attending that night. The only thing we did wrong was we didn't let the carmel sit long enough, (so it wasn't thick when we spread it,and it should have been chilled for longer. Otherwise, they were a huge hit and eveyone loved them. We will make themm again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe as written and it is delicious. I have a similar recipe that I have used for years which is easier. I use same ingredients. Place shortbread crust in pan, cook carmel portion on top of stove making sure that you stir and not burn on low to medium heat. When it thickens, pour on top of uncooked crust (chopped walnuts optional if you want to add to top of crust before adding carmel mixture). Bake like recipe calls for. After it bakes, add chocolate chips on top of crust and put back in oven for 2-3 minutes until chocolate softens. Remove from oven and spread chocolate. Wait until cools, cut into bars and then place in fridge so chocolate hardens. Ready to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
very disappointed - followed the original recipe - could not cut - caramel was too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The Carmel burned! I let the mixture boil for exactly five minutes in a high quality saucepan without stirring. The whole dessert had a slightly burned taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I had to boil the caramel mixture a bit longer than said but that was mostly do to the fact that I made my own sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homegrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
3 adjectives: crumbly, sticky, sweet. Using a double recipe and a 9 x 13 inch pan, the crust was too thick and crumbled when cut. The caramel was a thin layer on top of this too thick crust. I topped half with milk chocolate and the other with white chocolate (because of cocoa issues in family). Both sides were really soft. So, thin layer of soft caramel over thick crumbly crust with a soft, very sweet layer on top. Not very sophisticated and not easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I haven't tried this before but, from watching the film & seeing just how to put this together. It sure looks like one of the raiser recipe's like this I've found :-)! I'm also going to try to make a nobake peanut butter cookie , & try using that for the center filling also :-)!! Thanks for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent. I didn't have sweetened condensed milk so I mixed the following together to use as a substitute: 1 egg, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 Tbsp flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/8 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was fabulous! I did put extra chocolate on the top; next time I will also add more caramel and put pecans in it. The only problem is that the shortbread base tends to crumble when eaten, but that is ok since it is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States