Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
tasted just like homemade twix bars!! very sweet, but definitely worth making! I didn't have milk choc chips so instead I mixed dark choc chips and semi-sweet chips. Very good! Make sure you have some milk to drink with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are excellent and easy to make. I used an 8X8 pan, so it took about 10 extra minutes for the shortbread to bake. I also chilled the shortbread before putting on the caramel, and chilled the caramel layer thoroughly before putting on the chocolate. I had no trouble with the filling falling off the shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Followed other reviews, used parchment to line pan, let shortbread cool. Did not have any problem getting them out of the pan. I did add 1 tbs. butter to choc. chips. I think maybe just a different shortbread could make this 5 stars imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These were super easy and a huge hit at christmas eve. I made then a week before and froze them until that morning, kept them in the frige until ready to serve, everyone raved over them. Will definatley make them again! One word of advice, I did burn the first carmel layer b/c I didn't watch it closely enough, definately watch it carefully and keep stirring during this stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love these! I modified this a tiny bit - I added salted cashews to the caramel layer and cut the chocolate by at least half. I drizzled the chocolate over the caramel/nut layer. These make it SO hard to stick to my diet cuz they are THAT good! Nice addition to my Christmas cookie tray and will use again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wow, these turned out just like the pictures. A new favorite at our house. Next time I'll try adding a little walnuts between the carmel and the chocolate for a "Turtles" effect..Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are a sinfully delicious and very rich. I followed Kirsten's advise to the letter and the shortbread squares turned out perfectly. I'm so glad I doubled the recipe. They were the perfect addition to my Christmas Cookie Platters that I sent out to all my friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I make cookies for Christmas every year (about 12 different kinds) and last year I added this one to my collection. Everyone loves it! I've been trying to be more efficient with my cookie making so this year I doubled the recipe and made it in a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper. After I assembled the cookie, I stick it into the refridgerator to completely cool. Once cooled, I remove the "cookie" from the pan by lifting up the parchment paper and place on a large cutting board and cut with a large kitchen knife. They come out perfectly. If they start to melt a bit while cutting, just place back into the refridgerator to cool. Love this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedmexicana
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious!!! I doubled the shortbread recipe but then forgot to double the carmel and chocolate. It was more difficult to cover the whole pan, but I think it cut some of the sweetness probably. Can't wait to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have to say, I was excited about these, but they were very rich and had very little flavor. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States