Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
My children did not like the shortbread crust. They loved the caramel. Came up with an idea to use the caramel and milk chocolate. If turns out good and children like it. I will submit it to this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Easy to make, delicious to eat, had to hide the tin up high cause my son would not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
These cookies are wonderful! They contain everything my fiancee loves in a sweet. Very easy to make and will definitely have to be hidden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
These were great. The first row was very hard to get out of the pan but the rest came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Maybe it was me but many went to waste because I found them difficult to cut without the chocolate cracking. Also couldn't find a 9X9 square pan anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Shortbread crust was a bit bland. I boiled the caramel mix to 250(on a candy thermometer) almost hard ball stage and I liked it better. The caramel comes out chewier.I like milk chocolate better on the top, makes it taste more like a homemade TWIX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
These are very yummy! The rows around the edges are hard to get out without the shortbread crust turning into crumbs. Just throw away that part. You should be able to lift the rest out of the pan all in one piece and lay it on a cutting board. Use a sharp knife to cut the reast in to (approx) 1" pices. Yum-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
great for cookie exchanges, realy good, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I am not a big shortbread fan but my family is and they love this recipe. I made it several years ago and it was a hit. I am making it this year because of requests. I will do the chocolate on a double boiler next time. I am not a fan of micorwaving and it didn't work to well for me. This will most likely be a Christmas cookie staple around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKS09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I thought these came out horrible! they are definitely not 'cookies' ...more like a bar or a candy. The chocolate did not adhere to the carmel, and the carmel was as hard as a rock. Under the carmel was the shortbread...it seems a very odd combination of chocolate that falls off, hard carmel and shortbread. Very awkward to eat! Impossible to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States