Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yummy treat! I lined my pan with parchment paper. Not too difficult to make, however, even with the temp turned down you need to continuously stir caramel as it boils or it will burn. I used dark brown sugar which isn't as pretty as the light sugar. I will make again, my husband and his office will request I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this cookie recipe with some minor variations when I lived in England 20 yrs ago. This recipe is a bit easier and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
These were AMAZING!!! The only thing was - there are t specific instructions about the caramel layer (ie. should the burner be on medium heat? High heat? Should we stir the mixture? My original attempt at the caramel portion burned badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These were very good. The only complaint that I have is that the shortbread was too crumbly. Next time, I may add more butter to the shortbread to make it more moist and less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My mom has made these since I was a little girl...my favorite sweet of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very rich and great flavor! Made these with my son and they turned out great. We let the shortbread cool for about 15 minutes and then spread the caramel on while they were both still hot. The caramel mixture does burn if you have the heat too high. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These are really tasty. Just don't put them in the fridge they go like a rock and then you can't cut them. Also, I don't think during the 5 minutes boiling that the carmel should be touched but the recipe omitted that. But if you like shortbread, carmel and chocolate you will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is an easy to follow receipe I'm not sure if I messed up somewhere though as my caramel was very firm maybe too firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Holy moly this was good! Yes, was. The first batch was exactly according to the recipe, and was a bit flat. Bland. I made a second, and sprinkled coarse sea salt over the caramel layer once it had cooled, and it added such nice depth and layers of flavour! So good. For the second batch I sped up the cooling steps by placing the pan outside in the BBQ (it's 10 below right now). A freezer would work just as well, but mine's full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I just made these and they were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. Some people were saying to freeze the shortbread before putting the caramel on top. I found that I put my shortbread in the fridge for about 3 minutes and I have zero problems. I think people may be forgetting that the directions say to stir the caramel vigorously for 3 minutes after removed from heat. Letting the caramel thicken a bit before putting it in the dish is important. The only thing I will do different next time will be to line the dish with parchment paper so the caramel doesn't stick to the dish. Also, I used semi sweet chips because that is what I have on hand. Really loved this and will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States