Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my boss gave me a score of 9,8 he liked them a lot. So did my friend Andra he gave me a score of 10. I too liked them. I always told my friends homemade food is better then store brought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am an avid baker. I read through the recipe several times as well as through reviews for tips and tricks. I followed the recipe to a T and I don't know what went wrong. My short bread is crumbling to pieces. I can't get any size square (small or large) to stay in tact. Also, my caramel is hard as a rock! You could chip a tooth on it! I wanted to love this recipe as others did but this is a BIG miss for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These are delicious. The caramel has a great flavor and texture. I'm afraid to make another batch as they are addictive. Make sure you have someone to share them with. I was afraid that my caramel wouldn't set up if I stirred but I ended up with some dark caramel floaters- so I will stir next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delish! I used maple syrup as recommened in other comments and it came out awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Kristin's Nov 18, 2008 notes were helpful (double recipe; parchment paper; bring to a boil on low heat, stirring constantly; cool cookie and don't add caramel while very hot; use warm/hot knife to cut). That said; shortbread is very crumbly. Next time I'll try the crust I use for lemon bars which has a different proportion butter/flour and uses powdered sugar. Its more of a buttery/rich recipe than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree Simpson
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was my first dessert like this and I absolutely loved it!!! I will say there are a few steps but it is not anything crazy difficult that requires special tools. Just be patient between steps because it is crucial to let the shortbread cool all the way through. Also I would suggest letting the carmel cool for longer than the recipe says. I did follow the suggestions about the chocolate chips. I put a table spoon of butter and a little milk to make it smoothier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Yum! Made these twice now and they are great as written, especially as the caramel layer isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Turns out a little like a twix bar. Very crumbly. Just un impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The caramel is too hard to easily bite into. It would be better to define the heat of the boil or less heat + shorter time = softer caramel! As following instructions "bring to a boil" apparently does not mean high heat. Just a slight boil probably would have been better(6-7) But since this wasn't defined well many people from looking at the reviews after, had the same problem! (HARD caramel not "chewy".) Cutting them into tiny pieces and letting them dissolve in your mouth works, but with the shortbread you want to chew, and you just can't. Refine the caramel recipe and these would be great! As for the chocolate chips you can't microwave it too long after the initial one minute or it will turn clumpy + crumbly rather the liquid smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made these today to take to church. Amazing they were gone in no time. You have to try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States