Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
The recipe should read to cut a 9x9 pan into 1 inch by 2 inch squares, in order to get about 40.5 pieces. Since 9 inches doesn't divide evenly by 2, depending on whether you cut the pan into 9 x 4 = 36, or 9 x 5 = 45, you still won't come out with "40". Most of us eyeball it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
HOLY COW!!! These are amazing! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and waited until the shortbread was cooled completely. I did not double the recipe as suggested by some reviewers because I believed that if I used a 9 x 9 inch pan (and not a 13 x 9 as I suspect some reviewers did) it would turn out fine and it did. The shortbread measurements were perfect for the size pan stated in the recipe. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and not milk chocolate as suggested by another reviewer to counteract some of the sweetness of the caramel center. These are definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Best squares EVER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great Recipe-I love these squares and have been wanting to make them for a loong time. I doubled the recipe instantly (we have 9 teenagers), boiled the caramel on n°3 out of 9 on my hob and it was brilliant. For those of you who said it was too sweet, I used unsweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
amazing. These are the best squares I think I've ever had. They were a big hit at our last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarabelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I Love these!!! They are a big hit at work or any party I go to. I send these out in tins for Xmas as well. So simple to make even my 7 year old is pretty good at making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The bottom turned out a little crumbly. Taste was great. Would make again but not to take to a gathering. I would worry about the bottom falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These were really good! The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars was the shortbread. I will try and find a different recipe for the shortbread; this one crumbled horribly and they were almost impossible to keep together once cut. Super great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was fantastic! I didn't have any corn syrup so i just used a little extra condensed milk and it worked just fine. Great recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made these for a bake sale and they went over very well. I will definately make these again! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Ayr, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States