Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very yummy cookie.. great for a cookie swap or when you a larger amount for a party. I had some 'issues' with my shortbread crumbling, but the pans that I made using metal or ceramic worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Outstanding!!!! Made these for the first time yesterday. They are so good, it's scary. I cooked my shortbread in a foil lined pan, cooled then added the caramel topping and cooled. When fully chilled, I removed from pan, cut into pieces then poured melted chocolate on top of them. I have bad luck cutting chocolate when cooled, and this method was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Tasty, although I broke the cardinal rule of Allrecipes and made the recipe as-is without taking into account reviews--my mistake! When I went to cut them, the chocolate had hardened completely and made it very difficult to cut them--the caramel squished out all over, so they were very messy-looking, but tasty nonetheless. I may make them in mini muffin cups next time to avoid having to cut them.... ---------------- Updated: Doubled the dough, then pushed it into the bottom and sides of mini muffin tins...still baked 20 min. Used 1.5x the caramel recipe, and filled each shortbread cup with caramel, then topped with chocolate (only needed the original amt.). With these changes, FANTASTIC! Now they're portable and bite-sized and not messy and still just as tasty! Got about 44 using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was easy. I placed the shortbread in the freezer to cool and then added the caramel. Then cooled the caramel layer in the freezer. Then melted chocolate on top and then chilled that in the freezer. It was excellent and reminded me of a twix bar. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were so good I had trouble sharing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a hit with my family and friends, so many people wanted the recipe. I enjoyed making this as a treat and will keep this one for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The first couple of times I made this I had problems with the crust being very crumbly, but last time I used icing sugar instead of granulated sugar and it seemed to hold together better. Also, I didn't have light corn syrup, used golden instead and it was still great. The caramel turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Delicious and aesthetically pleasing... I think I will be adding these to my holiday trays this year! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I had problems with the caramel separating from the shortbread. They tasted great but, obviously, I need to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I followed suggestions from other users, but I'll try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
The taste was fantastic, along with the caramel. The crust could use help though. It falls apart way too easily. I have a shortbread recipe that is perfect and that is what I am going to use for the crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States