Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Good recipe. Next time will double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These are very good. I must say, though, I didn't think they tasted anything like a Twix bar. My shortbread was very soft and almost crumbly. I think next time I would bake it a little longer. I mixed a little heavy cream in with my chocolate chips when I melted them (I used milk chocolate, by the way). I cooled each layer before adding the next, and had no trouble with adhesion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I was just starting to cook when I made these---super great and super easy! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I made it for my wife and scored big points! I always line my pan with foil, it makes it very easy to lift the final product out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! I used golden syrup in place of the corn syrup as I didn't have any. When I was boiling the caramel it burnt really bad on the bottom (this could've been due to having a gas stove), so I will watch it more closely next time and put it on a lower heat. But I do have to say the slightly burnt taste was actually really good!! I might try putting a dab of the condensed milk mixed in with the chocolate so its not so hard on the top of the squares next time. Also.....the squares in the photo must've been a double batch of the caramel and chocolate or something because My layers were very small and I used a 9x9 pan. Next time I might try to double just the caramel part (makes sense too because 1/2 a cup is about half a can of condensed milk, so you might as well use the whole can!). Thanks for a great recipe!!! Just an update on these because i've made them a couple of times now........the caramel actually tastes A LOT better if you slighty burn it. Also, you need to keep them in the fridge otherwise they will start to go off within a couple of days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe!!! I have been looking for a recipe for these for so long and this turned out perfectly! My whole family couldn't believe how good they taste. I stirred the caramel non-stop over a medium heat and let it cool a little (till the surface was slightly firm to the touch) before pouring the chocolate on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I thought that this recipe was a little bit too sweet, so I had to cut these into extra small bits. Next time I will reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These turned out really good! And even better, they turned out to look just like the picture (that rarely happens!) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Make sure you stir the caramel CONSTANTLY! Otherwise, this has now become my kids favorite...this week, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were a huge hit! I refrigerated the shortbread over night and then cooled the caramel in the fridge the next day for a couple of hours before adding the chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States