Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very good recipe. Just a couple of tips to help make them a little easier. Definitely line the pan with foil for easy cutting. Also - there is no way you can spread the chocolate without adding something. I had to add 4 Tbsp. butter to get it thin enough to spread. I used 1 cup of semi-sweet choc. chips and 1/4 cup milk choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A grown-up twix bar. These are so good and very addictive. I doubled and did the 9 X 13 pan - I did have to cook my shortbread layer for almost 30 min to get it done all the way. The tip to score and then refrigerate, then cut was great. They came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Fantastic! I did cool the shortbread for quite awhile based on other recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
wonderful! Made as directed, and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A good trick to getting these delicious bars out of the pan is to use a springform pan, you could line it with oversized baking paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Awesome and super easy to make. I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate since we're more a dark chocolate kind of family. They got rave reviews from our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Decadently Delicious! I used the "calculate servings" button to adjust this recipe for a 9 x 13 pan (60 servings) and a jelly roll pan (80 servings) and a large double sheet cake 12 x 17 pan (about 120 servings). We will be making a LOT of these to give at the holidays. I made half my 9 x 13 pan with the crust recipe as written and spread 1/2 cup chopped pecans over the other half of the crust before baking. Followed the recipe as written otherwise. As written, 5 stars, but even better with the chopped pecans on the crust! Had no problems with crust crumbling- perhaps the pecans help with that, as well as with the caramel sticking to the crust. I made a batch of these in a jelly roll pan today- and made some changes. I added some salt to the caramel mixture during the boiling to help with adding depth of flavor and tone down some of the sweetness. Makes sense- "salted caramel" is everywhere on the cooking shows these days. I added about 3/4 tsp salt for 80 servings in a jelly roll pan. they go so fast! So Yummy you can't go wrong with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Luanne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe is wonderfull!!! I added some butter to my chocolate chips which worked great for spreading. Instead of a square or rectangle pan I used my mini muffin tray. I doubled the carmel and came out with 6 dozen equal sized treats without having to cut anything! I did put my pan in the freezer in between layers which worked great. I will recommend this recipe to all my friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were excellent! A definite add to the "do again" file (as my husband calls it). I followed some of the tips from other users and poked holes with a fork into the cookie base. I made the caramel mixture at a lower heat. I preferred eating them cold myself! Overall, one of the better squares recipes I've tried in a long, long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe. I used the suggestion to double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan and it turned out fantastic. One thing I did have trouble with was pouring the chocolate over the caramel layer (chilled of course) - the chocolate displaced the caramel so I ended up with parts of the pan with thick chocolate/thin caramel and parts with thick caramel/thin chocolate. I will definitely make these again and perhaps cool the chocolate a bit or leave the caramel in the fridge longer so I don't run into the uneven layer problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States