Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Make sure you stir the caramel CONSTANTLY! Otherwise, this has now become my kids favorite...this week, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were a huge hit! I refrigerated the shortbread over night and then cooled the caramel in the fridge the next day for a couple of hours before adding the chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Awesome. Lined my pan with parchment paper, made getting them out of the pan & cutting so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used a tube of pre-made sugar cookie dough as the base as a shortcut. When I have more time I will try it with the shortbread base. I also used dark chocolate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Doubled recipe and made in a 9x13 pan. Lined pan with parchment paper and cooled shortbread before adding caramel layer. I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate chips because it is what I had on hand and I'll do that again next time. They are plenty sweet. Taste like a twix bar, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Extremely easy, and the taste is very good although extremely rich. Definitely give yourself enough time in between steps. I cooked the shortbread last night and let it cool, then made the caramel this evening and let it firm up, then did the chocolate. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips bc I don't have milk chocolate, and it probably cut the sweetness a bit, which was good. I chilled after putting on the chocolate, but the chocolate layer broke up quite a bit so I wouldn't do that next time--I'd just let it harden at room temp and see if that makes a difference. The other layers were fine, though. This was easiest to cut with a pizza cutter for me. I used parchment paper, which worked like a dream for getting the squares out of the pan. I cut into squares then triangles for visual interest. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The shortbread was really good, but I added a tsp. of vanilla and a couple tablespoons of sour cream. I doubled the caramel portion, because we love caramel. My chocolate didn't set very well, and kind of seperated overnight. I refrigerated the shortbread before adding the caramel and then refrigerated again before adding the chocolate and had no problems with cutting the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
good flavor but the caramel was too soft. These bars would not stay together at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I have had better millionaire's shortbread before. This recipe only gets 3 stars because it isn't very CLEAR. It does not say if you're supposed to stir the butter/milk/sugar combo in the pan or just leave it. Since it says ti beat it after it has been boiled for 5 mins. I assumed you're supposed to leave it alone (when you melt sugar you're not supposed to stir it until a certain temp.) I did that on a VERY low heat and found that the sugar was burnt and the caramel was grainy and had a lot of black bits in it. So the second time (I threw away the first batch), I melted the butter first, then added the condensed milk, then the syrup and then the sugar, mixed it and let is get to a boil on the lowest heat possible and yet again, the sugar burnt. I accepted defeat and used it anyway, it tasted very good, just like twix but it just didn't look smooth or golden. The shortbread too, was grainy, nut velvety smooth and buttery rich like the shortbread I'm used to. I looked up other caramel shortbread recipe and almost all call for caster sugar and not granulated sugar, which would result in a finer shortbread. Also, on its own it tastes bland, I'd suggest to add some salt to it. All in all, it tastes good but isn't great, I'd definitely look for a different shortbread recipe and stir the caramel the whole time until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TableTennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These were to die for! I'll be adding them into my regular Xmas baking rotation every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States