Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I was just starting to cook when I made these---super great and super easy! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I made it for my wife and scored big points! I always line my pan with foil, it makes it very easy to lift the final product out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! I used golden syrup in place of the corn syrup as I didn't have any. When I was boiling the caramel it burnt really bad on the bottom (this could've been due to having a gas stove), so I will watch it more closely next time and put it on a lower heat. But I do have to say the slightly burnt taste was actually really good!! I might try putting a dab of the condensed milk mixed in with the chocolate so its not so hard on the top of the squares next time. Also.....the squares in the photo must've been a double batch of the caramel and chocolate or something because My layers were very small and I used a 9x9 pan. Next time I might try to double just the caramel part (makes sense too because 1/2 a cup is about half a can of condensed milk, so you might as well use the whole can!). Thanks for a great recipe!!! Just an update on these because i've made them a couple of times now........the caramel actually tastes A LOT better if you slighty burn it. Also, you need to keep them in the fridge otherwise they will start to go off within a couple of days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe!!! I have been looking for a recipe for these for so long and this turned out perfectly! My whole family couldn't believe how good they taste. I stirred the caramel non-stop over a medium heat and let it cool a little (till the surface was slightly firm to the touch) before pouring the chocolate on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I thought that this recipe was a little bit too sweet, so I had to cut these into extra small bits. Next time I will reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These turned out really good! And even better, they turned out to look just like the picture (that rarely happens!) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Make sure you stir the caramel CONSTANTLY! Otherwise, this has now become my kids favorite...this week, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were a huge hit! I refrigerated the shortbread over night and then cooled the caramel in the fridge the next day for a couple of hours before adding the chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Awesome. Lined my pan with parchment paper, made getting them out of the pan & cutting so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used a tube of pre-made sugar cookie dough as the base as a shortcut. When I have more time I will try it with the shortbread base. I also used dark chocolate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States