Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I make cookies for Christmas every year (about 12 different kinds) and last year I added this one to my collection. Everyone loves it! I've been trying to be more efficient with my cookie making so this year I doubled the recipe and made it in a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper. After I assembled the cookie, I stick it into the refridgerator to completely cool. Once cooled, I remove the "cookie" from the pan by lifting up the parchment paper and place on a large cutting board and cut with a large kitchen knife. They come out perfectly. If they start to melt a bit while cutting, just place back into the refridgerator to cool. Love this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedmexicana
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious!!! I doubled the shortbread recipe but then forgot to double the carmel and chocolate. It was more difficult to cover the whole pan, but I think it cut some of the sweetness probably. Can't wait to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have to say, I was excited about these, but they were very rich and had very little flavor. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Amazing. I read many of the previous reviews and made some changes. I doubled the recipe. Baked the crust in a buttered and floured 9x13 baking dish for 20 minutes. Made the caramel as directed but heated it to 200 degrees, stirring constantly. It was closer to 7 minutes than the recommended 5. I waited until the shortbread was cool as recommended by many reviewers, before pouring the caramel over it. I tried the milk chocolate topping as directed, but it siezed up. Everything was dry, so I can't tell you what went wrong. I did not want to ruin another 2 1/2 cups of chocolate, so I went with a ganache topping. I used 2/3 cup cream heated for 1 minutes in the microwave. Poured it over 2 1/2 cups mini semi sweet morsels. Stirred until smooth and then poured it over the caramel. I topped the chocolate with pecans and refrigerated. We just sliced into them and they look exactly like the picture and are a wonderful mix of delicate shortbread, rich caramel and creamy chocolate. What a treat! I usually make the recipe as written first, but following the suggestions of the others really turned this into a wonderful cookie. Thanks EVERYONE! We will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Love these! The carmel is a little work (be sure to stir constantly to keep from burning) but well worth it. I also refrigerated the crust about 15 minutes before pouring the carmel on top. And refrigerated after the carmel layer until set and then melted the chocolate in the microwave and spread on top of the set carmel. Can't wait to serve these on my Christmas cookie trays this year. Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
THis recipe is a good start. My shortbread crumbled majorly and it was way too thick! I even pressed it into an 11 X 7" pan. I baked my crust and let it cool over night. My first batch of caramel burnt, so I had to start over. The second batch came out perfect and set up beautifully! I used about 10 oz. of milk chocolate bars and couldn't have probably used less, so I will try 6 ore 8 oz. the next time. These taste like Twix bars. The next time I will try a different crust recipe. I had no trouble cutting mine, except the crust falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These taste like eating a twix bar. They're time consuming to make but worth the effort. I didn't have any milk chocolate chips so I melted some dark chocolate kisses and love the way it tastes with the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are delicious and pretty easy to make. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the shortbread and used the same amout of caramel in a 9 x 13 in. pan. I didn't want too much caramel. Use a sheet of plastic wrap to help press the dough in the pan. I placed 6 broken "Hershey" bars on the hot caramel and waited for them to melt and spread with an ofset spatula. They taste like a "Twix" candy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Ridiculously good. I tripled the recipe and it came out great. Followed the advice of other reviewers and chilled completely between each step. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are very good, however my shortbread crust was way too crumbly - I think it needed to cook a few more minutes. The caramel layer was a bit difficult to spread, so I wadded up a piece of plastic wrap and used that to press it down - worked like a charm! I had to sub semi-sweet chocolate chips because the cheap milk chocolate ones I had on hand seized up on me when I melted them. That was fine with me because I actually like semi-sweet better! I lightly greased the pan and had no problem getting these out. Very tasty and actually pretty easy to make, I'm just not completely thrilled with the bottom crust but I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States