Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I must made these this evening. Fantastic recipe. My only substitution was that I didn't have any corn syrup so I used agave nectar instead - can't tell the difference. I melted the chocolate on the stove for a glossier look. Will make again. Oh and or those that found the shortbread too crumbly. You need to be sure the butter is well distributed and pack the crumbs tightly into the pan. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These came out absolutely delicious. Like a commented before me suggested, I put the baked shortbread base in the freezer before topping it with caramel. I don't think I'll be able to eat a Twix bar again without wishing it was one of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is ridiculously amazing (IT REALLY IS), and easy. Read all the comments but stuck to the recipe, though I cooled at the shortbread stage, and at the caramel stage before spreading chocolate. I think if you are going to TOTALLY cool in between stages, at least SERVE at room temperature to ensure the layers don't separate when you bite into one. I think I just gained ten pounds and STILL I am making more. Thanks for making me fat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The family loved this - and it was pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are soooooooo good!!! I made them over the holidays with fabulous results. Everyone that tried them absolutely raved over them. They looked great too. My only advice is to allow enough time to let the layers cool before adding the next, especially between the shortbread and caramel. Yum!! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Definitely put in the Candy category. This is not a cookie and seems like a fat cousin of a Twix bar on steroids. It was very rich and way too sweet for us. I really liked the caramel and plan to use it for other desserts and pies. I would also suggest using the Williams-Sonoma Scotch Shortbread recipe for those who found the "crust" to be dry and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
So Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
the caramel was rock hard, turned to crumbs when I tried to cut it into pieces, flipped it over and cut from the bottom at least I could get "squares" tasted awesome but my son's friend lost a tooth on the caramel, think I will play with the caramel portion to see if I an get a better result, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Did not work out, the caramel all melted down into the shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AleciaShewchuk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These tasted SOOO delicious. However, I had problems with the shortbread layer being too crumbly. I tried several suggestions but they didn't seem to fix things. This didn't hurt the taste in any way. For presentation reasons, next time I'll try a different shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States