Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
YUM!I also stirred the caramel mixture constantly until it reached soft ball stage in a cool cup of water, and I used white sugar because thats all I had. I also used candy coating on top instead of chocolate chips. = D thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were really good. The caramel tastes a little funny on its own, but in the bar it was rich and tasty. My chocoalte chips were melting a little grainy so I added some butter and cream which made it into a soft ganache layer instead of a harder chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
A very tempting idea, but the chocolate on top melts all over your fingers and it's tricky getting the caramel exactly right. I followed the directions exactly and my caramel got too hard. I wish I'd used my candy thermometer, rather than the directions. The bottom layer was quite thick, too, and it crumbled a lot. Again, great idea, but it just wasn't a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent! Allow time to cool in the fridge before cutting, and cut them into 1inch squares because they are very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very close to what I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was so decadent and delicious. I'm not sure the caramel portion of the square turned out right but it was good just the same. I doubled the recipe as suggested by past reviewers and used a 9x13 pan, but I'm ended up with a lot of shortbread bottom and little layers of chocolate and caramel. Next time I might tweak the measurements on the shortbread so I don't end up with such a large amount. Sticking the shortbread in the freezer/fridge was definitely helpful but make sure you stick it back in the fridge after adding the caramel and leave it in there for a sufficient amount of time for the caramel to REALLY firm up before adding the warm chocolate. End product is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These bars are excellent! I added a little more butter to the shortbread base to avoid the crumbly consistency that some people complained about. The filling was divine and I can see myself using it in other recipes. I used white chocolate for the topping and it tasted even better than a white chocolate Twix bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I modified this using another recipe that I had wanted to try, and they came out great!! I used 1 stick of butter, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 c of flour for the shortbread. Make sure this layer is completely cool before topping with caramel. I cheated the caramel layer and melted 1 14oz bag of caramels with 2 T of cream. I let this cool and then set completely (about an hour). Then, to solve the problem of the shortbread and caramel separating, i cut my pan in half and then sliced into about 1" piece logs and dipped them in the melted chocolate. I got about 20 bars from this recipe. These were a pretty good recplication of twix bars, and because i cut back on the amount of butter in the shortbread, I think they had just the right texture. They impressed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
FANTASTIC! I love traditional shortbread with just caramel, so I omit the chocolate. These are easy to make and taste great. I brought them to the office for a treat and since then get requests to bring them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I must made these this evening. Fantastic recipe. My only substitution was that I didn't have any corn syrup so I used agave nectar instead - can't tell the difference. I melted the chocolate on the stove for a glossier look. Will make again. Oh and or those that found the shortbread too crumbly. You need to be sure the butter is well distributed and pack the crumbs tightly into the pan. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States