Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made these for work in a throw away foil cake pan and they turned out wonderfully, everyone raved about them. I tried to make them again in a glass dish and they needed a lot more time to cool between layers, which I failed to do, so these turned out very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Delicious! The only problem I had was that the crust crumbles a lot when i cut the squares maybe I did something wrong but I don't get what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie Morin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a sinful delight!! I could eat the whole pan. I used the tip of milk chocolate and only slightly cooling before cutting! Soo good. I gave it five stars and I really meant it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love these! They come out great. Super tasty and a real crowd pleaser. I will continue making these for years to come. Sometimes when I make these I add a pinch of salt for more flavour. To avoid burning/scorching stir the caramel constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooking with daddy.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this. Instead of melting the chocolate I just dropped the chocolate on top added chopped peanuts and score bits. Taste amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
They were great; the 2nd time I tried it. Do NOT let the caramel boil for five minutes. If you do, you will have a solid hunk of burnt caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Brought these to the office Christmas party and was EXTREMELY popular. My adjustments: Doubled the recipe and used a 9x13" pan; lined the pan with parchment; made the caramel by cooking on low heat, stirring continuously, then once everything was thoroughly mixed, brought to a boil for about 5 minutes while continuing to stir; put the pan in the freezer for a bit before and after the caramel; used dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate and added about 2TB of butter while melting; and shook just a little sea salt over the top of the chocolate before it hardened. My only regret is that the shortbread was EXTREMELY crumbly, which could have been from overmixing, or from not patting it down tightly enough, or from the fact that I didn't poke holes in the top, as suggested by others. But I will DEFINITELY make this again, and refine as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Ugh, I think this had potential, but I'm really disappointed that the directions did not specify to cook (boil) the caramel on low, or that it should be stirred while cooking. I did stir while cooking because it was pretty obvious you needed to, but I boiled it on medium, not low, and it was a solid, crunchy layer when it cooled. :( I did read some of the reviews that had tips, but obviously not the ones about cooking the caramel on low or it will get too hard. The shortbread was also crumbly, so IF I make these next time, I will add more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my boss gave me a score of 9,8 he liked them a lot. So did my friend Andra he gave me a score of 10. I too liked them. I always told my friends homemade food is better then store brought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am an avid baker. I read through the recipe several times as well as through reviews for tips and tricks. I followed the recipe to a T and I don't know what went wrong. My short bread is crumbling to pieces. I can't get any size square (small or large) to stay in tact. Also, my caramel is hard as a rock! You could chip a tooth on it! I wanted to love this recipe as others did but this is a BIG miss for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States