Caramel Sea Salt Dark Chocolate Coins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
If you truly love and appreciate chocolate, make these delicious decadent beauties, then, hide them in your secret chocolate hiding spot! You know what I'm talking about! When you 've had one of those days, the kids are whining, rough day at work, the husband can't find his favorite socks, go to your secret spot and pull one of these babies out. Everything will be all right ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Chocolate is not my favorite flavor, but I do love a good dark chocolate truffle-tasting bite now and then. This one is perfect! I watched Chef John do his video, and it was spot-on-perfect! And so was the resulting bite! Yum! Update: When I made these again, I had trouble with the caramel. It's kind of tricky. I LOVE the flavor of them when they turned out the first time--but they got mealy the next time. The salt is perfect with them---you only use a few grains of salt on each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used premium dark chocolate 60% cacao and these were incredibly delicious! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Really easy recipe! I took a step further to make it even easier by using the microwave to melt my chocolate. It's a great tip I learnt from Ina Garten. Tempering chocolate in the microwave is so easy. If you want to try, make sure you put the chocolate in a microwave friendly bowl and check on it a minute at the time so you don't end up burning the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
they were a hit. substituted milk + melted butter for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
have made this about 5 times in 2 weeks!! i cant get enough!!!!! watching the video really helped, because it gives you a visual aid of the "burnt" sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. It's very easy to prepare and gets fantastic raves from everyone at the party! It's also a great gift for a special friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These little chocolates are fabulous! I made a double batch for our large family Christmas party and everyone who tried them said they were heavenly. They disappeared quickly. I used a 12 oz. package of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips (doubled the recipe to make 48) and they turned out perfectly. I'm not sure I'd want to use dark or bitter chocolate because these were so good using the higher quality Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips. If you love chocolate or love somebody who loves chocolate, you need to make these. You will see their eyes roll back in their head when they take the first bite! Thanks, Chef John. Your recipes are always easy and oh-so-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Fantastic!! They came out tasting professional!! ;//w//; The salt brings out the caramel flavor beautifully ^u^ Will be making more of these!! Thanks for the recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Sea Salt Crostini

See how to make a savory chocolate crostini appetizer.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States