Caramel Sea Salt Dark Chocolate Coins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
If you truly love and appreciate chocolate, make these delicious decadent beauties, then, hide them in your secret chocolate hiding spot! You know what I'm talking about! When you 've had one of those days, the kids are whining, rough day at work, the husband can't find his favorite socks, go to your secret spot and pull one of these babies out. Everything will be all right ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yummy when i get my coffee n he am they have these little dark choc.caramel/ salt candies, tried one and loved it. But they are1.25 ea. 2 weeks later i see this recipe on here. Thank you! Saving me money. I had a little trouble with the sugar, didn't look like video and wasn't a lot of caramel taste but still yummy. I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Chocolate is not my favorite flavor, but I do love a good dark chocolate truffle-tasting bite now and then. This one is perfect! I watched Chef John do his video, and it was spot-on-perfect! And so was the resulting bite! Yum! Update: When I made these again, I had trouble with the caramel. It's kind of tricky. I LOVE the flavor of them when they turned out the first time--but they got mealy the next time. The salt is perfect with them---you only use a few grains of salt on each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Really easy recipe! I took a step further to make it even easier by using the microwave to melt my chocolate. It's a great tip I learnt from Ina Garten. Tempering chocolate in the microwave is so easy. If you want to try, make sure you put the chocolate in a microwave friendly bowl and check on it a minute at the time so you don't end up burning the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
They are only as good as the chocolate you use :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used premium dark chocolate 60% cacao and these were incredibly delicious! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
they were a hit. substituted milk + melted butter for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Tried this for the first time for a Christmas get together at work. Everyone that likes dark chocolate raved about them. they are just as creamy and easy to make as was shown on the video. If you like dark chocolate these are a must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These were not good at all. The chocolate and caramel was ok but it did not set up it became limp and the sea salt was GROSS. they might have been ok without the seasalt but I was disappointed. they sounded better than they turned out. Bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
have made this about 5 times in 2 weeks!! i cant get enough!!!!! watching the video really helped, because it gives you a visual aid of the "burnt" sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Sea Salt Crostini

See how to make a savory chocolate crostini appetizer.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States