Caramel Sea Salt Dark Chocolate Coins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I have made this a few times. It's really fun to make and everyone loves it. Dusting with cocoa is a cool touch but it sure leaves cocoa powder on your lips. Not cool, so I stopped dusting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
SOO good!! :) Can't wait for my morning coffee to see how wonderfully they complement that! I had a little trouble with the sugar crystalizing when I slowly poured in the cream. I kept the heat on low and eventually the sugar melted into the cream and began to boil. Also when I combined the caramel to the chocolate, it began to harden quickly so my "coins" were pretty rough. Glad I stuck it out though because the flavor is perfect! Just enough chocolate, caramel and salt. Can't wait to get better at this marvelously simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
1:12 "Ooo check it out. It looks like a rabbit bird." -Awesome-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Fantastic!! They came out tasting professional!! ;//w//; The salt brings out the caramel flavor beautifully ^u^ Will be making more of these!! Thanks for the recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
The caramel flavor was subtle, nearly nonexistent, but the combination of flavors with the sea salt was divine. The caramel didn't work in my first batch (ended up with a few pieces of toffee in brownish milk), but I used it anyway and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These little chocolates are fabulous! I made a double batch for our large family Christmas party and everyone who tried them said they were heavenly. They disappeared quickly. I used a 12 oz. package of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips (doubled the recipe to make 48) and they turned out perfectly. I'm not sure I'd want to use dark or bitter chocolate because these were so good using the higher quality Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips. If you love chocolate or love somebody who loves chocolate, you need to make these. You will see their eyes roll back in their head when they take the first bite! Thanks, Chef John. Your recipes are always easy and oh-so-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My 11 yr old son and I made these twice this holiday season. once with pretty cheap dark (but not super dark) chocolate, and once with a high end milk chocolate. The first set came out just fine and it was a fun recipe to do together, as imperfect as our coins were! The second time we used milk chocolate, the chocolate separated when we put the caramel in and we ended up with a bizarre texture and a separated liquid. I think they'll taste fine, but won't have great texture... and I assume this has something to do with the milk in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
OH NO! The recipe didn't specify a percentage dark chocolate so I used 85% dark chocolate from Theo because I didn't want to turn it into milk chocolate. That was WAY too high and it was impossible to tell the caramel or cream was added. I hate that I used the recipe first because in the video he shows he uses 60% cocoa. I think the effort put into typing up this recipe is a little slip-shod. I also had all the caramel harden when I added the cream, but he specifically says to put it in cold. On the video his stays liquid so I am not sure why that happened. Too dark for me, only flavor is bitter and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. It's very easy to prepare and gets fantastic raves from everyone at the party! It's also a great gift for a special friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yummy when i get my coffee n he am they have these little dark choc.caramel/ salt candies, tried one and loved it. But they are1.25 ea. 2 weeks later i see this recipe on here. Thank you! Saving me money. I had a little trouble with the sugar, didn't look like video and wasn't a lot of caramel taste but still yummy. I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate and Sea Salt Crostini

See how to make a savory chocolate crostini appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States