Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is truly an excellent, time saving recipe for caramel sauce! Yes, you do have to use caution when boiling the milk. I wouldn't consider it "babysitting" because you can do this when you are doing your morning chores and running back and forth through the kitchen anyway. TIMESAVER: Boil more than one can at a time; it will keep fine on the shelf for about three months. TIP: Let the cans cool completely before opening. Yes, you can buy caramel sauce, but you won't get one as good as this!! Hands down--the best! WARNING: You do have to keep water in the pan and be careful not to let it boil dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I first reviewed this a couple of years ago, but I wanted to post again in response to the scare-mongering... Ok, so my experience is this: I have boiled DOZENS and DOZENS of cans of condensed milk, and I can assure anyone that IT IS COMPLETELY SAFE TO DO SO. My only advice is 1. Make sure you keep topping up the water, and do not let the pan boil dry. 2. Be careful when opening the can: I wrap the can in an old towel, because some of the very hot caramel sauce does ooze out of the puncture hole a little. By the way, the 'sauce' will turn out very very thick and gloopy - NOT a syrupy pourable consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I agree about the waste of time and energy for this, and I have an alternative. I love this stuff so much I'll eat it right out of the can as dessert in itself. But if I want to heat it, I make two notches in the can and put it on my top oven rack for 20 minutes or so at around 350. I'm not sure if this is a whole lot safer, but it seems to work alright and I just carefully take the thing out with oven mitts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Just a little background on this recipe....boiling a can of condensed milk is actually an old Norwegian tradition. It is called preme and is most often served on a cracker such as a Saltine. Thought you might like a fun fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I was recommended a similar way of making caramel where you take the lid off the tin and stand the can in boiling water 3/4 of the way up the sides for a few minutes. I think this way might be better for people who are concerned about time or the sealed tin. You would also be able to see how fast it was caramelising and be able to judge the time for yourself. It's apparently good for camping if you want caramel on your porridge in the mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I thought this was a novel idea and found it because I had a partial can of condensed milk left from another recipe and didn't want to waste it. It turned out okay, it just seems a little silly to babysit this thing for 3 hours when I can buy a jar of caramel sauce ready to go for less than $2, or make a faster version with just a few ingredients. Besides all that, this caramel sauce is extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
After reading Moonbeagle's review, I too opted to use a double boiler. To cut down on the sweetness, I add a pinch of salt. I also add a 1/2tsp. vanilla. The recipe is so easy and good, and what a relief to not have to stand constantly over the stove!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I agree with LLCH - it does tend to be on the sweet side. And I especially agree with OFIESTY - it's better to be safe than sorry. I actually cooked mine in a double boiler. Let it simmer for 1.5 hours, and it turned out like advertised. Next time though, I think I'll just melt some caramels...it's a lot quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I don't know if it's a good idea to leave the lid on the can when boiling. I've been doing this for at least 10 years when making my caramel pie and have never left the lids on. Better to be safe than sorry, remove the lids...makes it easy to stir around to make sure all the milk is cooked properly as well as preventing unwanted pressure building up inside the can with the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
It takes all the hassle out of making the actual caramel and dissolving it with cream. However, some may find it a bit too sweet for their liking. This can be problem can be resolved easily by adding cream (or low fat milk) till the desired consistency / sweetness is reached. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States