Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love this caramel I have made it 4 times now an it is so good my family really likes it for dipping apple slices , over Ice cream,drizzal over dessirts, it stays soft it doesn't get hard, just make sure the water level stays above the can it's that easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My mother has been making this in this manner for over 40 years. This is more of caramel spread than a sauce. In Mexico it is known as Cajeta. I've found it precooked in California at grocers carrying Mexican products & sold under the Nestle La Lechera brand as Dulce de Leche. Do head the warning and don't open the can until completely cooled. You can cool the can faster & stop the cooking process by running cool water in the pot after the allotted cooking time. The longer you cook the can the darker the Cajeta becomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Read all the reviews and went ahead and prepared as stated. Nothing exploded and I didn't turn the can either. I didn't even have to top off the can with more water. Just got super creamy smooth caramel. LOVE IT!!! No more store bought caramel for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I decided to try this recipe as I don't keep cream on hand to make "true" caramel. I made this per the suggestion of foxtell8: I simmered the unopened can for 3 hours and removed pan from heat to cool completely. The next day, I opened the can with no problems and dumped the thick caramel into a bowl to eat with apples. My husband flipped over it and my kids (11, 9, 7, 5, 2) all couldn't get enough. I didn't care for it as it retained that sweetened condensed milk flavor. I will probably make it again for the family as the SCM is something I keep in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Like many others, I learned this from my mother back in the 1950s. Works great. Concerning fears that result from reading manufacturers' websites: PLEASE be aware that, because fear of liability lawsuits virtually controls the way commerce works in this country, you must take manufacturers' comments with large helpings of salt. If it is even remotely possible that something even slightly negative could happen from someone's heating the milk with the can intact, the company will warn you not to do it. I've done it for decades, with no problem. But I echo others' suggestions: let it cool slowly before opening. I store it in the fridge and, when I have a sweet craving, eat a spoonful. Better than candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I followed the precise instructions (except I forgot to turn the cans) and it was perfect. And delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This isn't even a caramel sauce recipe, this a dulce le leche recipe. You can save yourself some time and just buy dulce de leche in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My mother did this for us kids for years at Christmastime. When the stuff was cool, we dipped full sized marshmallows in it from the end of a kebob stick, then rolled them in shredded coconut or chopped nuts, it was a lot of fun, and an easy "candy" for us kids to make and add to the cookie tray at family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family and friends have been making this for over 30 years. The secret to keeping the cans from exploding is to use a pot with a strainer insert to keep the cans suspended while boiling. Make sure the cans are not touching each other or the sides of the strainer insert. Make sure the water level is at least 2 or more inches above the can tops. Bring to a full boil, then reduce heat to a slow boil with big bubbles and place a cover on the pot. Set your stove timer for 2 to 3 hours. The longer you boil, the stronger the taste. Set a second timer for 30 minutes to check your water level. Every time you check, reset the second timer for another 30 minutes. This will ensure the water will not boil down too low. If it does boil down from the original level, be sure to add more boiling water to keep it at the same high level. I use a glass lid on my pot, which makes it easier to check the water level every 30 minutes. Once your kitchen timer goes off, after 2 or 3 hours, turn off the heat and allow the cans to sit in the water and cool overnight. I use an 8-quart pot, so I can boil 5 cans at a time. I am in the process of making 5 cans everyday to use for gift giving. When I take the cans out of the water, I dry them and use a wet cloth to shine them up a bit. The cans do get cloudy looking on the outside and sometimes a little rust will show. Once they are clean and dry, I cover my cans using fancy printed duct tape and add a label with the date processed. Great on apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States