Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I tried this recipe because I needed caramel sauce and had condensed milk on hand but no heavy cream. And it's OK... Sweet, sticky caramel sauce -probably good for kids' ice cream, or something like that. But if you're looking for the depth of flavour in traditional caramel sauce, you're going to be disappointed. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
WOW! Made Grandma's apple bread pudding but I wasn't up for the vanilla sauce, so I made this. I make my bread pudding in the crock pot...takes about 3 hours on low, so this was perfect. I also did 2 cans, but will do more next time! I let it cool for about 30 minutes in cold water...was perfect temp to put on the warm pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lena, Illinois, USA
Living In: German Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Made caramel apples using this method last night. I have to say, they were WONDDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I have been doing this for years and it is wonderful caramel. I think the taste is far better than anything that can be bought. It is a thicker caramel, not a pourable syrup. Just make sure you keep topping off the water and you should have no problem at all. I have a 6 quart pot that is used specifically for this purpose, as the long boiling time causes a buildup on the sides of the pot. I can boil 6 cans at once, making it worth the time and energy. I don't bother with turning the cans, and have never had any problems with burning. I also let them cool completely before opening. I like it better chilled than at room temperature. This is wonderful for dipping apples in, spreading on the top of shortbread cookies, or just eating right off a spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This caramel sauce turned out as said, however I did not like the taste of it. It reminded me of Cajeta with goats milk. I will probably just buy store bought from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is very good. My recipe says to boil it for four hours. Very easy to do. We slice the milk/caramel and top with ice cream. Great spread on crackers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I had worked in a canning factory for years and seen my share of sealed cans explode. Hot, warm and cooled, doesn't make a difference. When they explode it can be dangerous and messy. Loud too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSGMUELLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I don't know if I boiled it too long or not enough. I made sure it had enough water and turned it every half hour for 3 hours and I got a congealed mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
save time do this in your crockpot no need to babysit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
My mum has made caramel this way since before i was born. One thing i seriously suggest is let it cool in cold water 20 minutes before you open the can or it can spurt out at you causeing seriouse burns. My impatient helped me learn the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States