Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This worked great for me! It came out creamy and delicious. Did not taste like butterscotch to me at all...had no issues with cooking in the can. I never let it go past a simmer once the water originally boiled...definitely a keeper recipe...thanks to whoever posted this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I just HAD to try this after reading all the fears of blowing up cans etc. I followed the directions to a T. I just simmered it slow and made sure the can was constantly covered with boiling water. I let it cool in the hot water as suggested. Presto... a deeeeeelish caramel like sauce for ANYTHING. It's not really caramel for real...but it's rich enough and sweet enough to be it's twin sister. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
wow!! Thank you for this easy carmel sauce! As Burger Chef and Jeff used to say... Unbelievea-burg-able!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LBFONG
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I needed caramel sauce for a brownie recipe and was looking for a traditional sugar, butter and cream recipe. The brownie recipe calls for Smuckers caramel sauce, but I didn't want to make a trip to the store. In my search I came upon this recipe. Since I had a can of Borden's sweetened condensed milk sitting in the cupboard, I decided to try it first. I followed the recipe to the letter and boy was I suprised how delicious it came out. I've read reviews of this stuff over the years and I see what all of the hoopla is all about. Mine came out thick like pudding with a delicious deep caramel taste and color after three hours of cooking. I started dipping things in it like nuts and kettle chips! I can see how people talk about eating spoonfuls of this stuff. I had to put it away before it was all gone. It will work out perfect for my brownie recipe thinned out with a bit of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBFONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I make caramel the same way to make banna caramel pie, except when I make the caramel I put a facecloth at the bottom of the pot so that the caramel dosen't burn when it's touching the can.. I also keep mine at a rolling boil To make banna caramel pie you make a gram cracker crust, fill it with the caramel sauce from this recipe, then top with whip cream and a light dusting of cinamon..and wala :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've made caramel this way for many years. It is delicious! A couple of hints: Don't use sweetened condensed milk with a pull tab top, think old school. The lids on these cans are already weak for easy opening. Use a BIG kettle of water. Fold an old dishrag and place under the can while boiling, or something else to lift the can off the bottom of the pot. You don't have to use a rolling boil, a simmer or a little bigger than that will do. 3 hours is a minimum for a spoonable caramel, longer makes a thicker, darker caramel. I'd guess that the reviewer that got the butterscotch flavor needed to leave it to boil a while longer. But hey, I like butterscotch, too. Allow the can to cool in the pot with the water. I wouldn't handle it until it is cool. Plus, who wants to handle a gallon of boiling water and a hot can of lava! This is WAY better than the dip you can buy for apples! My grandmother's name was Marie. She cooked for 8 kids. If she gave me a recipe, I knew it was tried and true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I love it! Tastes great and so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I like to use this technique in a lot of my recipes but i boil about 6 cans at a time and if i want to make another desert i don't have to wait 3 hours keep lids sealed never exploded on me ... the actual term in this is called Dolce Leche which means sweet milk it is used all the time in spanish deserts I discovered this on my trip to Ushuaia Argentina, happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baked and confused

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
People, People, People. My greatgrandmother, grandmother, mother and now myself have been boiling Eagle Brand Condensed milk for a century and half. Some reviews said that the cans were exploding, easy resolution. 1. Do NOT open the can or puncture holes in it.in any way 2. Get a large pot of water boiling. 3. Once water is boiling, take off milk labels and put cans into water (I do 4 at a time as it will keep on the shelf for a few months) 4. Turn temperature down to simmering & allow to cook for 2 to 3 hours (the longer you cook it the darker/thicker it will be) No one in my family has ever turned he cans. 5. after cooking for alloted time, turn off heat and remove pan from the stove to allow to cool, & then just walk away, do NOT attempt to drain the water or remove the can or open the can at all. 6. You MUST allow the cans & water to cool, before opening the can up. This will prevent the exploding can dilemma for some of the reviewers! The milk can also be done on a campfire (which I have done at least a dozen times or more-allow it to cool in your cast iron dutch oven the same way you do in a pan on your stove top). It is an amazing treat at camp (the boyscouts love it). This comes out thick enough to spread & we have been eating on sliced apples for as long as I can remember-delish. Add a scoop to a pan with a little heavy cream & heat for an amazing caramel sauce...As far as the babysitting comments go...watching your food usually goes hand in hand with cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is more like dulce de leche than caramel sauce. A word of warning, as I don't think this recipe states it clearly enough, you must ensure that there is always water covering the can. The water will boil off within time, so you'll need to keep adding water so that the entire can is always submerged. If you let it boil without being submerged, it causes the pressure in the can to increase and it will explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States