Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family and friends have been making this for over 30 years. The secret to keeping the cans from exploding is to use a pot with a strainer insert to keep the cans suspended while boiling. Make sure the cans are not touching each other or the sides of the strainer insert. Make sure the water level is at least 2 or more inches above the can tops. Bring to a full boil, then reduce heat to a slow boil with big bubbles and place a cover on the pot. Set your stove timer for 2 to 3 hours. The longer you boil, the stronger the taste. Set a second timer for 30 minutes to check your water level. Every time you check, reset the second timer for another 30 minutes. This will ensure the water will not boil down too low. If it does boil down from the original level, be sure to add more boiling water to keep it at the same high level. I use a glass lid on my pot, which makes it easier to check the water level every 30 minutes. Once your kitchen timer goes off, after 2 or 3 hours, turn off the heat and allow the cans to sit in the water and cool overnight. I use an 8-quart pot, so I can boil 5 cans at a time. I am in the process of making 5 cans everyday to use for gift giving. When I take the cans out of the water, I dry them and use a wet cloth to shine them up a bit. The cans do get cloudy looking on the outside and sometimes a little rust will show. Once they are clean and dry, I cover my cans using fancy printed duct tape and add a label with the date processed. Great on apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I know this recipe as dulce de leche, a Mexican caramel sauce. It's for sure not the same as the caramel sauce you may have had on your ice cream sundae - different, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthernLass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
You can also do this in the microwave. Just pour the milk into a high-sided glass bowl, cover loosely with plastic wrap and cook on medium for 2 minutes, stir. Continue cooking, stirring every 2 minutes, for about 10-15 minutes. If you want it thicker, cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is the perfect way to make caramel, and is a great base for caramel pie (ala O'Charley's); however, follow the instructions carefully and, ideally, let your can cool for an hour before opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is so easy and good. I made a couple of cans in the crock pot, as I read was possible from another reviewer. I filled the CP with water, set it to low, and ignored it all day. About 9 or 10 hours later I turned off the CP and let the water cool naturally. After it cooled and I removed the cans & opened them, both were filled with yummy "dulce de leche" style caramel. It is now in my refrigerator, waiting for it's next use. I saw the caramel apple dipping sauce they sell in the stores, and I vowed to never buy that again! I'm so excited to have this easy, yummy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
WARNING! Superb carmel pudding/sauce BUT do set your timer--and be sure to have a deep pot with plenty of water to cover the can. I put the kids to bed, (husband was out of town), put the sweetened condensed milk in a pot covered with water and settled down with a good book. I was lost in time until an explosion in the kitchen reminded me of what I was cooking. The can had exploded sending pudding ALL over the kitchen. I scrubbed the kitchen--floor to ceiling until 2 am. Set a timer if you cook this delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made this to go on my cheesecake today & it is so easy. Fantastic finish, great flavor and now I can't keep my husband out of it. Almost too easy to be true. The same caramel flavor that I remember as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I've done this several times and it makes a great tasting, thick caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
A tip ! if the sauce turns out too thick, add whipping cream little at a time, until it reaches desired consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I also boil the cans and just watch to make sure the water level doesn't go below the can, but even if it does, it's ok, I've had it go below the can and was still fine. I like to use it for making turtles during the holidays. Use a small ice cream scoop or cookie scooper, roll in chopped pecons and then shape into balls. Refriderate or freeze for a couple hours then dip in melted chocolate, they are so good and will amaze people when you tell them what they're made of. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States