Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I made this recipe last night. Some of the reviews mentioned how the popcorn stuck to the paper bag. I solved that problem by lightly spraying the inside of the bag with Pam. It worked like a dream. I baked it at 250 degrees for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. I thought it was still going to be kind of mushy, but today it's nice a crisp. Very good flavor. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Maenpa-Pavey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this recipe for a holiday party and gave the leftovers to the host. Another person in their family is anti-sweets and gave the leftovers back to us. The host actually called and asked us to return the leftovers because it was the best he's ever tasted! You know a recipe is good when someone is willing to humiliate themselves to get more! Also, I drizzled melted chocolate into the mix. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
YUM! I modified it because I'm lazy like that. 2 bags of microwave popcorn, crushed up pretzels and chopped up pecans with the brown sugar base. 10 extra minutes in the oven definitely did the trick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
What a yummy treat...Even better then crunch and munch and cracker jacks. I only had 2 cups peanuts so I threw in 2 cups almonds. Next time I'll try cashews. Soo good. I did skip the paperbag method and just mixed in a large stock pot and put into two aluminum lasagna pans and baked for the 10 minutes. Absolutely delicious. Soak your dishes in warm soapy water for 15 min for easy clean-up. This recipe makes a ton so you might want to half it. Once you start eating-you wont stop. The salty pretzel adds such a nice twist to this caramel popcorn treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe is great except it doesn't mention what turns out to be the most important part of making caramel corn. After making a first batch with clumps of caramel mixed in with plain parts with no caramel, a woman at work clued me it to the critical missing step! Once you have mixed the caramel in with the popcorn, pretzels, and nuts, put small batches in a PAM-sprayed microwave-safe bowl and put in the microwave on high for two to three minutes total, stopping after each minute to stir the mixture. The caramel will completely coat the popcorn and stuff, yielding that great texture similar to cracker jacks. Other than that missing tip (which I can't believe wasn't in any reviews that I saw), this recipe works great! The paper bag idea is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made this today for Christmas gift baskets. It made a lot of treats and turned out great. I did bake it on parchment lined cookie sheets for a few minutes after pouring on the carmel. I will make it again, but next time I think I will put 1/2 of the popcorn mixture on the bottom of the bag, then half of the carmel, half popcorn, half carmel. I think it will probably mix easier that way. I will also use the suggestion of spraying the bag with pam to avoid too much stickage. No loss - I just ate the stuck stuff while backing the rest of the batch... Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
GREAT..but a couple changes make it AMAZING... used 2 bags of (lowfat-ha ha) kettle corn. made exactly to directions using pretzels and cashews. Put in large stainless bowl sprayed w/cook spray. (you could also spray inside of paper bag to prevent sticking) Mixed well. Put 2/3 of it in a foil (for easy clean up) roasting pan in oven for only about 5 minutes and then I melted about 8 Dove dark chocolate candies in microwave, tossed chocolate in remaining 1/3 caramel corn and put in fridge to cool. Took about 15 min. Broke up large pieces and added it to remaining cool caramel corn. This is a real treat. Trust me, try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This caramel is perfect! I did a half batch, using one bag of low-fat butter-flavored microwave popcorn. I broke the pretzels by hand, which was time-consuming (next time, I'll stick the pretzel sticks in a baggie and beat them with something :), and I used regular salted peanuts. I also used salted butter (next time, I'll use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup margarine to see how it works!). The caramel mixture foamed up after I added the vanilla, not the baking soda. I think it was the alcohol in my fake vanilla flavoring. :) I put it all in a huge brown bag and had the same problem other reviewers had: the caramel pools on the bottom. So I madly stirred it and dumped it out on two baking sheets to cool. Peeling the caramel-covered peanuts (the nuts sunk to the bottom) out of the bag was a hassle, but yummy! I did not need to put it in the oven, letting it cool on the cookie sheets was perfect for us. My three-year old loves it. Thanks, Rookieswife. :) You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
WOW really good!! I didn't have a paper bag so I mixed it in a large stock pot. This is the second time I've made this...the first batch went really fast. I doubled the recipe this time, but I don't recomend it...too much to mix at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very good. I made this with my children to take to neighbors as a holiday goody. I'll have to make another batch as my kids can't keep their hands out of it! I didn't pop quite enough popcorn or have quite enough pretzels so I made up the difference by adding coarsely chopped pecans. It convinced me that this is a perfect recipe for experimenting. I can't think of many add ins that wouldn't be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States