Caramel Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The cake could in fact use 3/4 C less sugar and a bit of salt but I'm happy with it anyway. The caramel icing is incredible! Just remember that you're dealing with the science of sugar crystals when making it. Time your ROLLING boil exactly, pour it out of the hot pan into a mixing bowl afterwards and leave it alone while it cools. Mine is setting up exactly like caramel along the sides of the cooling bowl as I type. I doubt it will need much beating at all. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My husband has been begging me to find a caramel pound cake for over 2 years. Well today, 6/4, is his birthday :o) I searched the internet and stubbled across this recipe. I must say I'm a baker and LOVE to bake!! This cake was FABULOUS!! My husband, family, & neighbors ate the entire cake :o) I would give 10 stars if possible!!! Very tasteful, yes rich & heavy but SOOOO WORTH IT!! Will be making this very soon again for up coming events :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this with "Caramel Frosting I" from this site because I wanted more of a frosting than a glaze. It turned out wonderful. I used 1-3/4 c of dark brown sugar and 1/2 c light brown sugar. I also omitted the nuts. I made this for my grandmother's birthday party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkitsch
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made a vegan version of this recipe with all the various substitutes (Ener-G egg substitute, Earth Balance 'buttery sticks,' soy milk powder...) and it turned out very well. While it took a long time to prepare, this cake was a big hit with my vegan and non-vegan friends. It was heavy and rich and so worth the long prep time! I've made the non-vegan version at least three times since, and it has never failed to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I didn't make the cake from this recipe I actually made the icing from this recipe. The only thing I did was add 6 squares of chocolate barks and it was Beautiful!!! This is an easy to follow icing to make and I will def do it again esp with the kids being out for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My family really enjoyed this cake. I made it in round pans rather than a tube pan and then filled it with caramel buttercream and frosted with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This rating is for the caramel icing only...it's the best! Yummy! I plan on making this pound cake for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made this cake for my book club's discussion of "The Help." Nice and dense and moist, but frosting came out grainy. Possibly I didn't boil long enough? Also, for those who found this one a little difficult to follow - the main flaw seems to be the ingredients are not listed in order? Bottom line, yummy, dense, and moist. Would be good paired with berries or apples and whipped cream : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reggie Tucker
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this cake today for my birthday. It turned out great and taste wonderful. My oven must be off, it took almost 120 minutes before the toothpick came out clean. Other than that I had no trouble with this recipe. I did add a teaspoon of kosher salt to the batter. Alton Brown said it helps all sweets. I put a nice pinch of salt in the frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Really, really delicious! This cake is definitely sweet and rich. I could've sliced mine even thinner and been happy. I didn't change a thing with the batter. The only tiny thing I added (per the suggestion of another review) was a little bit of kosher salt. Probably not enough to even taste it, but next time I may add a little more. The caramel sauce is delicious, but I think it's too much. Next time I would definitely half it because I threw a lot out. I used a bundt pan and it took about 85 minutes to cook fully. Came out with no problems and didn't go over the edges at all. I served it with vanilla ice cream and the hot caramel sauce. It's very decadent, relatively easy to make and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States