Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been making this recipe for about 40 years. I got it from a 'farm cookbook'. If you are tired of picking hulls out of your teeth, try making it with OkeDoke popcorn puffs from the grocery snack isle. It is wonderful. NO hulls! Also, I find that if I put the puffs in the oven BEFORE I start the syrup, it makes it easier to coat the popcorn/puffs if they are hot. I pour it right out onto my clean countertop as soon as it comes out of the oven and it is easier to break up. Every year I use it for gifts for many and they all look forward to it. I made 2 batches yesterday and guess I will be making at least 2 more. I always get requests for the recipe. You do need to get it in a container soon after it is cooled or it will get sticky if it is in the open for very long. We love it in Michigan! I used to use margarine but some companies have changed their formula so now I use strictly BUTTER! After all, its the holidays and we treat ourselves with things we don't normally have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made probably 3 or 4 double batches of this recipe for the past couple of years around Christmas. Double batches disappear in around an hour with a group of people. No one can resist the power of this recipe. I get steady requests for it all year. I make it just as it is, no modifications. I've left it raw after spreading the mixture over the poopcorn for a gooey treat and I've also baked it for the PERFECT hard shelled confection. Just do it. Just make the recipe. It never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Tried several different caramel corn recipes and this one is the best by far!!! I followed the directions exactly as written and it comes out perfect every time. The only thing I do differently is, after I remove it from the oven I spread it out over some waxed paper to cool in a single layer. This was I don't have to break it apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dermchris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I use the same or similar recipe and have for years, its very yummy. I am not understanding one comment about using only 1/2 a pound of butter, 1 cup is half a pound.. Merry Christmas all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made it exactly as the recipe said, and it turned out great. Will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Delicious toasty caramel flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and found it spot on. It is easy to make, easy to clean up and very tasty. Next time I may add peanuts. My family loves this popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Love this stuff.Already made one batch of this and getting ready to make more.So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe but this is how I coat my corn: get the largest turkey baking bag they sell, and get on your garden gloves! Put corn in bag, pour syrup over, quickly twist bag shut, and turn over and over until coated with gloves on to prevent burns. Enjoy this delectable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaclyn
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My whole family enjoyed it, they are so delicious, thanks for sharing this great recipe..thumbs up!!..movie time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
HOLY MOLY!!!! This stuff is ADDICTIVE!!!! My husband and I purchased a Nostalgia Electrics Popcorn maker and dispenser for the holidays. We were really wanting some carmel popcorn and we decided to just make our own! Found this recipe, and decided to give it a try because of all the wonderful reviews it had! Well we were not disappointed at all!!! We added chopped pecans to ours to make it our own! I sprayed the pans with non-stick cooking spray also. We had already had dinner that night and we were so full, but we could not stop eating it!!! My opinion, its better the next day after it has had a chance to cool completely and get that crunchy texture which I absolutely ADORE!!! This christmas I will be making tons of this popcorn and sending it to my family members!! Thank you to whoever shared this AWESOME, DELICIOUS recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States