Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
AMAZING!! I've made this recipe many times but this is what you have to do. Boil 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk for 3.5 hours (add water as needed). Make sure the water is a rapid boil the entire time. Take the cans out and place on one end for 30 minutes - put upside down on the other end for another 30 minutes. Then open cans and place the "caramel" in a bowl and stir til smooth. Put in one large graham cracker pie shell or 8 small ones...ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llissermae
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I love this!! I only boiled for 2.5 hours and i used the little 6 pack of keebler mini graham cracker crusts and it was the perfect amount. Awesome little mini desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llissermae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made this I was not as good as it sounds. I made for my family and it was not eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was an incredibly easy pie to make. I used the recipe for Graham Cracker Crust I and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow. This was simply way TOO sweet. I did everything as suggested and it turned out well--it set beautifully and looked lovely. But neither my husband nor myself could even eat a whole piece (and it was a small piece). What a disappointment. I'm amazed that so many people could eat this and rate it so highly because it is just too much. Huh. Well, I will keep in mind the clever way to make caramel. Maybe for drizzling a little on ice cream or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It was a wonderful pie and I will be making this again! I suggest letting the milk rest after you get done with it for a few minutes. I had the perfect consistency after I let it set in the fridge for several hours. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
In South America, this "caramel" is called "Dulce de Leche". Unless you can find an Argentinean store that sells it, this is about the only way to make dulce de leche unless you want to stand over a stove top stirring it for hours on end. My family has been making dulce de leche this way since they moved here 50 yrs ago. Like someone else mentioned, you can make it on in a pressure cooker, after the pot builds up it's pressure and starts jiggling, lower the heat and cook for 30 - 45 minutes, turn it off and let the pressure release on it's own. Once that happens, open the lid and let the water get down to room temperature, once that happens, then you can open the can. NEVER open a hot can or when boiling let the water get below the top of the can, or it will explode. That is the only danger in cooking this in the can. If you are diligent and careful, there won't be any problems and it's delicious. When I've cooked it in a regular pot, I've never cooked it for 4 hours, that just seems so long! 2 hours max. But with the pressure cooker, as long as you put enough water to begin with, then you don't have to worry about it boiling away in 30 minutes, in a regular pot, you have to be vigilant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is absolutely fantastic! I made it exactly according to the directions, and it came out perfect. A few reviewers suggested using two cans, but I think that it would make it far too rich to enjoy. That said, the next time I make it, I plan to modify by making my own graham cracker crust, adding a handful or two of chocolate chips, and sprinkling almond slivers on top of the whole pie. This could easily become one of my family favorites...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
WOW. This pie is sooooo sweet. Heating the cans in the water scared the beejeebes outta me though. Next time I will go with the double boiler idea. It is just as easy to do. I even toasted some pecans and poured the caramel over them in the pie shell to make a type of pecan pie. I kept the pie in the freezer with a pie covering over it. This kept the pie from becoming 'watery' after cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
this is deadly! i ate one very small sliver of this pie and my hands are still trembling. its good, but i wouldnt consider 2 cans.. the amount of sugar in this with just ONE can is enough. Im thinking i might use it as a layer for a cheesecake or brownies.. it should be eatten with something. The whipped topping is important. it cuts the overload of sweet down and makes it eatable. excuse me while i go try and burn the sugar rush off. wondering if i should have a second piece..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States