Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i sprinkle semi-sweet chocolate chips in the bottom of a homemade butter pie crust then add the caramel while it is still warm. When it is completely cooled and topped with homemade unsweetened whip cream you may serve it and you have a type of chocolate coated pie shell. It is sweet and salty - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My rating is only on the caramel part of the pie since that is the only part of the recipe that I followed. It was rich and amazing! I made my own cinnamon pecan graham cracker crust and placed sliced baked cinnamon apples on top instead of using a store bought crust and whipped topping. My husband loved it and he doesn't even really like sweets. My children thought they died and went to heaven.... happiest faces ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This pie is always a hit when I make it and people think I put in a lot of work! I do turn my cans once every hour so they "cook" evenly. I also whip the caramel with a hand mixer, add fresh vanilla whipped cream on top and sometimes a sprinkle of chocolate chips. Chopped pecans would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very good. The safest way to make caramel from swc in the can is to put the can(s) in your crockpot, Add enough water to cover the can(s) by an inch,then cook on LOW for 8 hours. No danger of water running too low and having to repaint the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My mother made these pies back in the 70's. It was always my favorite. She would cook 3 cans of condensed milk and it would make 2 pies. We would line the graham cracker pie crusts with bananas and sprinkle with pecans and pour the cooked milk on top and top it with cool whip. I have never made one because I am too tempted to eat it all!!! but I think I'm going to have to make one and use self-restraint :) (This would be good with apples somehow too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARH95
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this with two cans of milk, boiled for 3.5 hours, which I left in the cupboard overnight. Spooned it into a chocolate graham, topped with two bananas, then with Cool Whip. Tried to write Happy Birthday with Hersheys topping and sprinkled with chocolate pieces. I did not think I would be able to tolerate this pie. I got the idea from a friend, then came to this site to check out recipes. It was decadent and yummy and I not only tolerated it, I ate a full piece and wanted more. It was good... and I am still marveling at the magical caramel that comes out of the can. Next time, I will use the slow cooker method I read about. The boiling method was easy but the hard water from water dripping on the stove top left a bit of a mess. THANKS! P.S. Posted this review on another recipe from this site for caramel pie because I read both before I proceeded. I think it's pretty hard to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved it. I added a crushed Heath/toffee bar over the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have made this pie several times and its always been sinfully delicious! Be sure to whisk caramel well before pouring into crust. I've used both a graham and a pastry crust, hubby prefers graham cracker crust. I usually top with homemade whipped cream and either chopped pecans or toffee bits. It is very rich tho, so a thin slice will do ya. I use this method for most recipes calling for caramel and have never been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilred70670

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
AMAZING!! I've made this recipe many times but this is what you have to do. Boil 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk for 3.5 hours (add water as needed). Make sure the water is a rapid boil the entire time. Take the cans out and place on one end for 30 minutes - put upside down on the other end for another 30 minutes. Then open cans and place the "caramel" in a bowl and stir til smooth. Put in one large graham cracker pie shell or 8 small ones...ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llissermae
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I love this!! I only boiled for 2.5 hours and i used the little 6 pack of keebler mini graham cracker crusts and it was the perfect amount. Awesome little mini desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llissermae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States