Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Pretty good recipe, decent guidelines for beginners, but the condensed milk only needs to be boiled for 2 1/2 to 3 hours, since 4 hours burns the caramel. I give this a 4/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ebaxter0005
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe is my favorite! I like to make my own whipped cream for it though. It makes a big difference. Super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i sprinkle semi-sweet chocolate chips in the bottom of a homemade butter pie crust then add the caramel while it is still warm. When it is completely cooled and topped with homemade unsweetened whip cream you may serve it and you have a type of chocolate coated pie shell. It is sweet and salty - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My rating is only on the caramel part of the pie since that is the only part of the recipe that I followed. It was rich and amazing! I made my own cinnamon pecan graham cracker crust and placed sliced baked cinnamon apples on top instead of using a store bought crust and whipped topping. My husband loved it and he doesn't even really like sweets. My children thought they died and went to heaven.... happiest faces ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This pie is always a hit when I make it and people think I put in a lot of work! I do turn my cans once every hour so they "cook" evenly. I also whip the caramel with a hand mixer, add fresh vanilla whipped cream on top and sometimes a sprinkle of chocolate chips. Chopped pecans would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very good. The safest way to make caramel from swc in the can is to put the can(s) in your crockpot, Add enough water to cover the can(s) by an inch,then cook on LOW for 8 hours. No danger of water running too low and having to repaint the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My mother made these pies back in the 70's. It was always my favorite. She would cook 3 cans of condensed milk and it would make 2 pies. We would line the graham cracker pie crusts with bananas and sprinkle with pecans and pour the cooked milk on top and top it with cool whip. I have never made one because I am too tempted to eat it all!!! but I think I'm going to have to make one and use self-restraint :) (This would be good with apples somehow too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARH95
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this with two cans of milk, boiled for 3.5 hours, which I left in the cupboard overnight. Spooned it into a chocolate graham, topped with two bananas, then with Cool Whip. Tried to write Happy Birthday with Hersheys topping and sprinkled with chocolate pieces. I did not think I would be able to tolerate this pie. I got the idea from a friend, then came to this site to check out recipes. It was decadent and yummy and I not only tolerated it, I ate a full piece and wanted more. It was good... and I am still marveling at the magical caramel that comes out of the can. Next time, I will use the slow cooker method I read about. The boiling method was easy but the hard water from water dripping on the stove top left a bit of a mess. THANKS! P.S. Posted this review on another recipe from this site for caramel pie because I read both before I proceeded. I think it's pretty hard to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved it. I added a crushed Heath/toffee bar over the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have made this pie several times and its always been sinfully delicious! Be sure to whisk caramel well before pouring into crust. I've used both a graham and a pastry crust, hubby prefers graham cracker crust. I usually top with homemade whipped cream and either chopped pecans or toffee bits. It is very rich tho, so a thin slice will do ya. I use this method for most recipes calling for caramel and have never been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilred70670

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States