Caramel Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
The pie was very easy to make however I was very disappointed. I was looking forward to a "carmel" flavor.This was a very sweet flavor--but definetly not carmel. I served it to my husband and asked him what flavor it was,he said vanilla? He agreed it was mot carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipie in my opinion is terrible. I made it for my parents and my husband to be and no one liked it. It doesn't taste like carmel anything. One piece was taken and we threw the rest out. Skip this one for you and your families sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
I followed the recipe to a tee and got a nice, rich caramel flavor. It's delicious! It was SO easy! I served it with whipped cream as suggested in the recipe. It was incredibly sweet, but my fiancé, who is not a die-hard sugar lover like me, still went back for seconds. Will definitely make it again. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The recipe for caramel cake that I use....uses brown sugar....I'm thinking that's why this recipe is not tasting like caramel....instead of white sugar use....11/4 cup. of brown sugar, I also use a whole stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I gotta say this was pretty bad when we tried it. However, we realized our error after we finished making it. We were apparently WAY too impatient with the sugar and should have left it longer. So it didn't work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
TOTAL waste of ingredients.. tasted like glue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
We all loved it - not sure what the flavour is though not exactly caramel but it tastes GREAT all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
We are having Christmas dinner with my husbands siblings and I was looking for a recipe to fill some tart shells. This recipe gave me a great jumping off point. I did however make one change. I used dark brown sugar instead of white. Using the dark brown sugar gave it a lovely aroma, so good you won't mind the stiring time while waiting for it to thicken. Once it had thickened I removed it from the heat and spooned the filling into the tart shells I had made. I think it would yield about 20 but my crust recipe only made 18 so my daughter and I had fun liking the spoons and cleaning out the pot. My daughter is very picky and she loved the flavour. She asked me to make her some without a crust since she doesn't like crust. I think it would be lovely that way as well. I am giving this recipe a 4 because as I said it was a great starting point, I just prefer the brown sugar flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
Not exactly what I was expecting. I LOVE caramel and didn't really love the pie. My husband doesn't like caramel and liked the pie. It was easy and fairly quick. It wasn't very caramelly. Taste was ok, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States