Caramel-Pecan Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was excellent! If you have the time, bake a pumpkin up and use instead of the canned stuff. What a difference! Other than that, I did not change anything--except increase the cooking time before adding the pecans. I love this because I can have two great tastes in one pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
We tried this for Thanksgiving. To start I love the taste and smell of pumpkin but I DETEST the texture of Pumpkin Pie. This is by far one of the best pies I have EVER eaten! Hands down it was the best pie I have baked. My 16 year old son has already asked to bake it two more times. A note on the times. It takes about twice as long to bake then the stated times. I didn't add the topping until about the 40 minute mark. I did omit the lemon zest only because I forgot to purchase a lemon when I was out and about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a great departure from "unadorned" pumpkin pie. I did bake it for about 15 minutes more than called for in the first stage because the custard wasn't "set". Also when I put the Pecan mixture on I did so with my hands, this makes it much easier to distribute evenly over the soft pumpkin with out disturbing the soft pumpkin. I also doubled up on the spices, I did 1 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. Allspice, 1/4 tsp. Nutmeg. Everyone loved this pie........it's a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this pie for the first time today for my family's Thanksgiving dinner instead of our traditional pumpkin pie and it was a hit with everyone! My dad, who is a big food snob, even ranked in in his top three pies ever! After tasting this pie I don't know why anyone would ever settle for "just" a pumpkin pie. From now on this will be my family's Thanksgiving pie. Just a couple of changes I made after reading other people's comments here: I baked the pie for 30 minutes before adding the pecans and then baked it for 30 minutes more instead of the 20/20 recommended in the original recipe. Also, I baked it in a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Very sweet and does need to cook longer as noted previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VH
Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Really Tasty Everyone thought this was absolutely delicious. But my topping was very crunchy - the caramel part kind of solidified. When I made it I softened the butter and mixed in the brown sugar & nuts then spread on top. Maybe I should have melted the butter? Didn't affect the flavor - just made it harder to cut through the top that was crunchy into the bottom (that part was also delicious0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm the submitter of this recipe and would like to add a change... I suggest you change the first 1/2 of the cook time to 30 minutes and keep the 2nd 1/2 at 20 minutes to be sure the pumpkin is cooked throughly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISACAS1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yummy!! Over the years my family had decided to cut back on its pies for Thanksgiving and one of my favorites to get cut was the pecan. This pie is perfect for the those who love pumpkin pie and pecan pies.Yummy it was like eating pumpkin pie and pecan pie. The only thing I added was some whipped topping and carmal drizzle. This will be the pie I'll be making for now on. My family and friends loved it and said it was a keeper. Thanks for a recipe that was not only easy to make but looked and tasted sooo delicious. I used the suggested cooking time and perfect for my oven. Oh yeah I thought it was just as good if not better than Paula Dean's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The taste of this pie was very good but the consistency was a little to mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lobaeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Not too sure what I did wrong but this pie did not "set" i ended up scooping it into bowls with ice cream. No one complained but it looked really unappetizing to me; tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenKlutz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States