Caramel-Pecan Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
First off, I HATE pumpkin pie, I hate it so much you'd think I was allergic. I can not recall any holiday where I've subjected myself to consuming this gooey orange colored mass of spices. However, my family LOVES pumpkin pie, and since I play chef every Thanksgiving...I thought I'd give this recipe a trial run before the eating extravaganza comes around this year. I had to taste test of course...what a tasty crunchy explosion of fall flavor! Not only was it simple to put together, but it was terribly yummy. I'm looking forward to unveiling this pumpkin-pie treasure this coming holiday season... I may even pair it with some Jeni's "Maker's Mark/Buttered Pecan" icecream to make for a decadant pie ala mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm the submitter of this recipe and would like to add a change... I suggest you change the first 1/2 of the cook time to 30 minutes and keep the 2nd 1/2 at 20 minutes to be sure the pumpkin is cooked throughly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISACAS1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Finally a pumpkin pie without condensed milk and artifical ingredients! This pie makes you wonder why anyone would ever choose a different recipe. My only caution would be to watch the pecans closely as they can burn before you know it. Also, after making this recipe several times know, I find that my oven needs another 20 minutes or so. If you know your oven takes longed I would wait to add the pecans for 30 minutes. Also good with a walnut and pecan mix on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Not only was this pie easy to make, but came out of the oven looking beautiful and tasting fabulous. I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and everyone loved it. The crunchy pecan topping on the pumpkin was just delicious! A nice change from plain pumpkin pie. The only thing I did was adjust the spices--I doubled them, and also added about half a teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. I'm going to make this pie again very soon, since there weren't any leftovers for me to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this pie for my husband, who is a very picky eater, and he loved it! It was really simple to make, but it tastes like something that would take a very long time. I definitely recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
My sister and I weren't too crazy about this pie. The crust came out sort of soggy, and the pumpkin filling was almost a custard/pudding consistency - which I wasn't expecting. The topping was good, but I didn't like the taste of the pumpkin filling. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! What a great variation from the traditional pumpkin pie. The perfect blend of two great holiday pie flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy to make..gotta admit, i am really not a big pumkin pie fan, but everyone else seems to be, so this looked like a pretty good recipe to try. YUMMMYYYY! Definately will make this again....I did have to cook mine about 10 more minutes than the recipe called for though...could be because I made mine in a stone pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was indeed very easy!! Cures my boredom with plain ol' pumpkin pie :D. Also, I used a graham cracker crust simply because I hate the doughy kind... worked out well with the other flavors! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paragon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this with squash instead of pumpkin. Cut the squash in half and laid the cut sides down in a pyrex dish, added 1-2 inches water, and microwaved until soft, 8 minutes at a time, then test for softness. Scoop out and discard seeds, then scoop out flesh and puree in a food processor. I added 17 minutes to the first baking time, because it seemed way too undone to be adding a topping at that point. For the topping, I used 1 1/2 cups of whole pecans. Remove the foil from the crust before the last 20 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States