Caramel Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was my first attempt at pecan pie and it was very good. I loved the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The caramel flavor takes attention away from the pecan flavor. As a preference, we'll stick with a more classic version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I loved this pie so much! I made it for Thanksgiving, and had a very hard time not eating the whole thing myself. It's probably the best pie I've ever eaten ever. I doubled the amount of pecans and used light brown instead of white sugar. I definitely recommend making this! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Best recipe ever!! First time making pecan pie and I will go back to this recipe again and again. I chopped the pecans and used 1 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup. Normally I do not like pecan pie but this recipe changed my mind. Can't say enough good things about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is the best. My Husband is not a sweet eater but will eat this. I use the chewy werthers orginial candy and they work great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: Chilhowie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made a total of 6 pies and two were messed up. Not all the carmels were fully melted and I missed it. Those pies went to friends and the they LOVED it. They said it was great becasue there were small morsels of carmel in the pie. So you maye want to reserve 20 camels and cut them into smaller pieces and addthem after the parts are combined. Also I mixed twice the amount or pecans into the entire mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I also cut back on the sugar, to half a cup - one quarter white, one quarter brown sugar. As I like to fiddle with recipes, I went with one jar of Trader Joes' Fleur De Sel Caramel Sauce - which is only 10oz, so I tossed in a handful of milk chocolate chips and a splash of dark rum - cutting back slightly on the milk. Did not add salt as it was in the TJ's caramel sauce. Came out wonderfully, even in my convection oven - I did not want soup, so I made sure I had a very firm center, then chilled it for four + hours. A quick reheat right before serving, with vanilla ice cream - it was delicious. Experiment with this this recipe, read the reviews and tips - all were very helpful. so I felt compelled to contribtute - not just read and take! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I thought this was awesome! It was the first pecan pie I've ever made. I did use Kraft caramels, and only 34--which was perfect. I will try SF caramel icecream syrup next time as many suggested, but it really worked out perfect as written. I used crushed pecan pieces because that's my preference. Only thought would be to use a deep dish pie crust. While a normal crust is fine (pie inflates, then levels out upon cooling), it was VERY full and I spilled a little getting the pie into the oven. Perhaps that was just my own clumsiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good!!! Used 8 oz of butterscotch caramel topping instead of wrapped caramels and also used a deep pie crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This pie was EXCELLENT! I made it as per the recipe with the exception of substituting 1/2c brown sugar for the white sugar. The pie turned out sublime - not overwhelmingly sweet like so many Pecan pie recipes (it was plenty sweet - don't get me wrong - but not completely overwhelming). I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year and now it is on the "must-have" list for next year. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States