Caramel Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I own a restaurant and recently started making all our desserts in house. This is one of my best sellers. Two changes I recommend - (1)skip melting the caramels, I use the Smuckers caramel ice cream topping, and (2)reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. I use a 4 cup measuring cup, put all ingredients in (except pecans), and mix. Once mixed, stir in pecans and pour into crust. I use a convection oven, and my bake time is about 45 minutes. Once the entire pie jiggles as one I remove and cool. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I made two of these pies, with a few changes--one using the regular recipe (and substituting brown sugar for white) and one using 40 unwrapped Rolo candies in place of 36 caramels. I also put in more pecans than were called for (about 1.5 cups). Both were DELICIOUS! I also took 6 caramels, a dash of milk and a pat of butter, microwaved about 30 seconds, stirred until smooth, and drizzled over the tops of the baked pies for a caramel topping. The results were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
Absolutely delicious, but very rich--a small piece goes a long way. A couple of reviewers noted that melting the caramels took a long time. Five to seven minutes over low heat is not long. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, may cut it a little more the next time. The amount of filling was perfect for the 9 inch shallow pie crust--just handle carefully, and put a round pizza pan in the oven while preheating, and place the pie on the pan. My friends and family raved about the pie. I am 73 years old, an accomplished cook and baker, and will definitely make this again for special occassions. Thanks Corwynn for sharing this recipe with us. Chef Gordon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I used this as a filling to mini pecan tartlets. I chopped my pecans into small pieces. I made a cream cheese/shortbread crust: beat 6 ounces softened cream cheese, 1 cup softened butter, 2 cups flour, 3 teaspoons sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Chill the dough for 30 minutes and then shape 1 tablespoon of dough into a ball, flatten and press into a mini muffin pan. (My muffin pan is silicone.) Fill the cups with 1 tablespoon of the caramel/pecan mixture. I had enough leftover filling to fill 6 more cups, so you may want to decrease it a bit. Bake at 325 for 40-45 minutes or until crust is very light brown. Makes 36 tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I found this exact recipe on another website about 2 years ago. I make it frequently because it is delicious and easy. It is very sweet. The only downside to it is the unwrapping all the caramels and cost of the nuts. I always use Kraft brand caramels, though I have tried using cheaper ones a couple of times. I did not get as good a result, so I would recommend only using the Kraft. Also, I add slightly more pecans than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was yummy! It's a perfect recipe for fall weather. I expected the pie to be "caramely" and chewy, but it was more like a pecan pie. I baked it for the time recommended, though, and it wasn't done yet. So I baked it 15 minutes longer and it was great! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This pie is to die for!! It will be too sweet for some, but to me it was great. Also, it makes a difference which carmel you get. I have made this twice. The first time I used the classic cooking carmels, and the second time I used carmel candies. Don't use the candies. When I did so it did not harden like it should, and also was too much carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I made this pie tonight for my family for dessert. Everyone thought it was awesome. I have never made a homemade pecan pie before and this was so easy. It turned out perfectly and tasted so good. As suggested by other reviewers I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also only baked it for 40 minutes and used a deep dish pie plate. I will definitely be making this pie again. Thanks Corwynn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I've made this recipe a number of times and everyone always LOVES it--even when it comes out runny, which it has when I've used too many caramels. Follow the recipe exactly (and use the smaller caramels, not the oversized ones you can sometimes find pre-bagged) and the pie will come out perfectly set. this will always be my pie of choice, even when it's not the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
F~A~B~U~L~O~U~S!!!!! My family LOVES this pie! Easy to make and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States