Caramel Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this pie to bring to a friends for Thanksgiving dinner. I forgot to rate it at the time but here goes: The taste was great but REALLY RICH. It was eaten by all as it was the only homemade pie we had but......It was sooo sweet. I could have just a small sliver and I even have a sweet tooth! I've tried other pecan pie recipes and enjoyed them for not being so sweet. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
If you love caramel then this is definately the recipe for you! I made it for our family Christmas dinner and it was dee--lish! I would recommend cutting the baking temp by 25 and adding on about 15-20 minutes of cooking time, though. The top of the pie was perfect, yet the inside was still very gooey. I also wrapped foil around the edges of the pie for the majority of the baking time. I removed the foil for the last 20 minutes. Perfect! Another suggestion is to use pecan peices for the filling of the pie and then top with a handful of pecan halves, just so it cuts "prettier". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
One of the most amazing pies I have ever had! I have been making this pie now for a couple years, usually for Christmas and Thanksgiving, I always get rave reviews. I have changed nothing...I use the exact recipe and will never change a thing...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
OMG, this was great. I will never make normal pecan pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was really very excellent. A slightly different take on a pecan pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out nicely. Must have ice cream to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! We had it for Christmas dessert, and it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used an extra half cup of pecans. It was wonderful and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was fantastic! The first time I made it the pis was a FLOP! So I altered the cooking method the second time and it was PERFECT! I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown suger as others suggested. I made sure the butter and eggs were room temp. I blind baked the pasrty and toasted the pecans. I then cooked the pie at 275 slow bake for 1 hour. You know the pie is done when you hold the sides, twist gently. The outer filling should not move but the inside jiggles a little. Cool completely. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The recipe was great with my alterations. I ended up using 28 caramel pieces and substituted water for milk (I was running low) I also used 2 eggs instead of one. And I used 1 1/2 cups pecans. I did have to leave the pie in the oven longer until it stopped jiggling and it turned out dangerously perfect (I had two slices in one day and I made it for dinner desert) my family loved it! I would give it 5 stars if I followed the directions the way they were wrote down. But I will definitely be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have made this pie several times and it gets better every time. I substitute the 3/4 cup sugar with 1/4 white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar. I also bake the pecans first for 20 minutes with cinnamon and raw sugar. This pie gets rave reviews wherever I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. I followed other people's suggestions and decreased the sugar amount and cut up the pecans so they were easier to make. I will make this again. It turned out really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States