Caramel Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. I followed other people's suggestions and decreased the sugar amount and cut up the pecans so they were easier to make. I will make this again. It turned out really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very good...different. As some reviews suggested, I cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Everyone really liked this pie. Nice twist on traditional pecan pie. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is the best pecan pie I've ever had!! I actually don't think it's quite as sweet as traditional pecan pie; I was able to eat a much bigger slice! I didn't mix the pecans into the filling, I just sprinkled them on top and was able to get away with about 3/4 c. of pecans. Saved a little fat and calories but was still really pecany tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe and put in phyllo cups just to try it. DELISH! Took about 10 minutes to prepare and about 15-20 mins in the oven. The halved recipe called for 1/4 c and 2 tbsp of sugar. I used 1/4 c brown sugar and 2 tbsp. white. I also chopped the pecan halves. Because they were basically bite-sized, they were not too sweet. Because I was only trying this out, I had 15 phyllo cups. I halved the recipe and I think I had enough for 15 more. Good way to use up my pecans from the sweet potatoe casserole I made for Thanksgiving. Beats anything you can buy in a bakery. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am sorry, but this was way to sweet for us. I will make my ususal Thanksgiving day pecan pie for the family next time. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Delicious and easy to make (with the exception of unwraping 36 individual caramels!) I made no changes to the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this with condensed milk instead of regular, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, and 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans - it came out fabulous! It is the first and only pecan pie I have made that cooked in the recommended time and set up like it was supposed to. I've given up on the Karo syrup recipes, and will stick with this one. It is even better the next day as it keeps very well (the crust was not mushy as is the case with a regular leftover pecan pie). I will try it with 1/2 cup regular sugar next time as my husband said it was a bit to "caramely" for his tastes but I thought it was great with the light brown sugar - just depends upon personal taste. I would not go with more sugar though, it was definitely rich enough. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great! My family loves pecan pie so I thought I would try something a bit different. I did change recipe a bit and used 2 C pecans and only used 1/2 C sugar. It does have a different filling than traditional pecan pie, but it is excellent. I found it to be less sweet than the traditional pecan pie. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States