Caramel Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Voted the best of 4 pies at Thanksgiving this year. Very rich!!! Used Werthers caramels and 2 cups toasted pecans. Husband insists that the unwrapping of the caramels is the key. Have an expert do it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Throw away the corn syrup. This is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Devlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Use Kraft Caramel Bits 11 oz package in place of the 36 wrapped caramels and it comes out PERFECT. Great recipe! I also used brown sugar instead of white and thought that made it even better. I also increased the pecans (because I love them!) and put halves on top. Served at Thanksgiving - everybody loved it more than traditional pecan pies. I didn't think it was excessively sweet or caramel flavored either. Everyone just asked how I had made such a great pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
First time I followed directions to the "T". Pie was super sweet, tasted total caramel, and when the first slice came out the remaining pie gooed to the middle (it sat for at least 3 hours before we ate ). Second time I used 28 caramels, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/2 tsp salt. Pie held its shape and the sweetness was just enough, just borderline. I might go down to 26 caramels next time. I was looking for a flavor of caramel, not such an absolute. This is a good recipe as a base. It does lend itself to adjustment for taste. I'm glad I found it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My first pie, and it came out perfectly! I recommend double the pecans, chopped rather than halves, half the sugar, and an 11 oz bag of Kraft meltable non-wrapped caramel pellets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Florenas, do you still add milk when using caramel topping? The label states milk as the 2nd ingredient. just wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious but VERY sweet! The inside didn't completely set because of the caramel, which was okay with me but made the pie a bit messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and a nice alternative to using corn syrup. I am serving this for Thanksgiving and I am sure it will be a hit! **It was a hit! Everyone loved it, it was the first pie to go! It has been requested to make more appearances...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheStubbieChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
TO DIE FOR!!!! IT WILL ALWAYS BE PART OF OUR THANKSGIVING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States