Caramel Oatmeal Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I didn't really like the results but I had changed so many things and I really like the idea so I tried to give it a neutral rating. I only had chocolate pudding mix and even with reduced sugar, it was still too sweet for me. I did put them into a square pan and put them in the fridge making bars out of them. I'll try again maybe with the recommended pudding mix this time, or leave out the pudding all together and try with marshmallow instead as the binding agent. Will definitely have to add vanilla in that case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I'm sorry, these just didn't work for us. My son and I followed the recipe exact and it though it set up, it did not set up enough like a no-bake would. You'd go to pick it up and it would fall apart. Also, what we did try, it was way too sweet. Even for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Pretty tasty for no bakes.. They do get pretty soft when not cold though so eat them when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Tried these out. Very tasty, although quite sweet. I wonder if other flavors of pudding would work as well? also, chilling them in the frig seems to make them less sticky for fingers while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Here are some tips from myself and other reviewers: increase oats to 3.5 to 4 cups, add teaspoon vanilla, let cookies cool in a cold place (not on the warm kitchen counter), and make sure you use 5 fl. oz. of milk and not the whole 12 oz. can. I used chocolate pudding (yes it makes it very sweet) but I think any flavor would be good in this cookie. A very good no-bake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Arce
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
While the mixture is super delicious, it is a big gloopy mess. The recipe has far too much liquid. After using almost an entire container of oats, I finally realized that nothing I did would absorb the liquid and help these cookies take shape. The recipe might work if you reduce the butter and milk by half and still add an extra cup or so of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue_steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yummy! I followed the reviews that said use 3 1/2 cups of oatmeal and they set up fine. Will add this to my christmas cookie line up. I used reg milk second time instead of evaporated ( if forgot to buy it, DUH!) and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Mine set up fine, but even if it didn't I would eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
First of all, I read all the reviews and I used 1/2/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 2/3 cup evaporated milk (but then I realized 5 oz. was 1/2 cup + 1 TBLS). then It said to only cook until boiling, but I cooked it a few min. on med. heat. I added the pudding, but also added 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 1/2 cups oatmeal. The butter was unsalted and I thought I could have used salt, but because the pudding has salt, I didn't. I was going to garnish with a salted peanut. After all these alterations, my cookies seem sticky and not set, but it's only been about a half hour. They are very good, kinda like a payday bar. I would make them again. As one of the other reviews, I made these to go along with chocolate peanut butter no bakes, which did set up and are not sticky. Maybe its the pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I thought this made an excellent non chocolate No-bake cookie.I was going to take these to work since there were so many, but my husband and I ate them all up! I plan to make regular no-bakes and these and plate them together for contrast next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Issa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States