Caramel Nougat Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
Great tasting cake and wonderful icing (a total figure destroyer, though...) After seeing the comments about the caramels sticking to the pan bottom, I took one of the suggestions to use caramel ice cream topping. When I turned out the cake onto the wire rack, however, it fell apart, while some of it stuck to the pan. The cake was way too moist. Any suggestions as to the reason why this happened? (the pan was well coated with a flour/oil baking spray).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I used carmel topping as everyone seemed to suggest. I also used D Hines cake mix. If I recall correctly, there's already pudding in the mix. Well, my cake didn't fall apart. It held very well. Nice form. Except for the missing top!!!! I don't think I'd use the topping again. It all sank to the bottom of the pan (top of the cake). Maybe you have to use the tiniest amount of topping. But, then what's the point? I'm wondering if maybe cutting the carmels into tiny pieces and laying them on top of the batter before you put it in the oven. Or not add any carmel to the cake mix and just use carmel frosting instead of chocolate frosting, because you're adding chocolate pudding to the frosting anyways. I LOVE the frosting, and I am not a frosting person. But I'm going to try carmel frosting instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I recommend putting 2/3 of the batter in the bundt pan before adding caramel. The weight of the caramel caused the caramel to sink to what became the top of the cake and it stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
I agree with everyone else. The carmel was too heavy and once it cooled it was very hard! Next time I will use ice cream topping. Also be careful to buy a cake mix that has the same amounts of egg, water and oil as the recipe. That could be another reason for it not wanting to hold together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
ditto on the sticking to the pan and falling apart....next time I will use ice cream topping caramel instead the the candies...and try to avoid letting the caramel touch the edges of the pan when drizzling it...the taste is yummy, so definitely worth trying again to see if I can get it right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
I found this cake a little disappointing. The caramel fell to the top of the cake, so it wasn't in the middle like it was to be. This make the cake top heavy and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
I agree with the above review. Also the caramel hardened too much. I think next time I will use caramel ice cream topping. BUT the frosting is absolutely THE BEST!!!! All the girls at work wanted that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
great cake - but that carmel was very hard to work with. i couldn't get the knife through the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This cake was really moist and delicious. I too had some of the caramel end up sticking to the bottom even though I put in 3/4 of the batter prior to the caramel. However, some did not sink all the way down, so I think if I made it again I would just use less caramel. I think caramel topping would make it too wet unless you took out some of the water from the cake. The part that did not stick to the pan did not get hard and just added flavor to the cake. While the frosting was interesting and yummy it was odd to work with and I think I might skip it next time. I might also try it with some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States