Caramel Macchiato Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This ice cream is good. No - I mean, this ice cream is GOOOOD. Holy moly, I never expected it to be this delicious! I've never had the Caramel Macchiato drink (although I just may be tempted to now), so I have no clue if this ice cream tastes like it, but I'm telling you, unless you really detest coffee you will love this. No, I take that back - even if you don't like coffee, you will love this. The pairing of caramel and coffee flavors is just simply, dreamy delicious - something new for me. I like my ice cream rich (and most often with eggs) so I used half-and-half instead of the milk. Also, I've made ice cream often enough to know that a full cup of sugar would be waaaay too sweet, so I cut it back to 3/4 cup and it was simply perfect. In fact, everything about this ice cream is simply perfect! It is so rich, creamy and gooey it needs no topping or any other embellishment. I didn't even wait for it to ripen (harden) in the freezer before eating it. Because after trying a taste of it, I couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This ice cream isn't even frozen yet and we are having a hard time staying out of the freezer. I cut the sugar back to about 3/4 cup and used about 1/2 cup homemade caramel sauce. I can't wait for it to freeze. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We just made this along with 4 other flavors of homemade ice cream and this was our favorite! I found some instant coffee at the store that came in single serve packets and it was hazelnut flavored! I think that added to the greatness of this wonderful recipe! It took 4 single serve packs to make 2 tbsn. We mixed thick caramel topping into the ice cream just before putting into the freezer. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I just bought an ice cream maker last week and tried to make this ice cream this weekend, but unfortunately it didn't work well.. I don't know what's going wrong, but the ice cream wasn't thicken even though it had been churned in the machine for 1.5 hrs :( . I was so brokenhearted since I've tasted the mixture and it's sooo delicious. Has anybody faced same problem with me and found how to fix that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Shut up! I love this. I am the happiest pregnant woman in the all the world right now. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead and heavy cream and it is so amazing. Yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for my coffee-loving husband, whose favorite drink at the coffee shop is a caramel macchiato. Personally, I don't drink coffee, nor do I really enjoy ice cream. But after making this, I had to give it a taste, and Naples was right - even if you don't love coffee, you will like this ice cream. I had a tiny bite, and another bite, and another.... My husband said that it is so much better than the caramel macchiato ice cream from the store. Compliments to the recipe submitter - this one is definitely a hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very Very Very Good.I used Creamy Fudge Dessert Sauce instead of Caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used to work at Starbucks, so I know how this SHOULD be done... I made half coffee ice-cream and half vanilla ice-cream... I fashioned a couple dividers for my container so that it looked kinda like this -> ( || ) from the top and tapered down to look like this \ V / from the side (so the caramel doesn't pool at the bottom) then I poured the coffee icecream on one side, and vanilla on the other -> (C||V) then I poured chilled caramel in between the two dividers... then chill in the freezer for a short time... like 5 mins, to let the caramel just start to set... then, carefully, pull out the two dividers, and run your stirrer (chopstick, knife, w/e) back and forth across the three flavors so that your caramel goes from this -> || to looking like this -> {{ ...ish With these changes, it was DELICIOUS aaannnd Accurate! of course, after it hardened in the freezer, I served this with a little more caramel drizzle on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very Good. I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
An ice cream luver’s delight. Used half & half instead of milk, and reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. We’ve made this ice cream a few times. We have used pasteurized heavy cream as well as the more readily available ultra pasteurized. Since no cooking is involved in this non-custard based ice cream, the pasteurized will be fresher tasting (although having an appreciably shorter shelf life). It’s great either way but if it’s a matter of choosing one from the shelf versus the other, DON’T pick the ultra pasteurized. We found it at Whole Foods. We used Sanders Classic Caramel Dessert Topping but hope to also use Chef John’s Salted Caramel Sauce from this site. We have a Cuisinart 2 qt. ice cream maker, and doubling this recipe filled it close to the top but didn’t run over when freezing. Reviewers overwhelmingly love this ice cream, and you will too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States