Caramel Macchiato Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used to work at Starbucks, so I know how this SHOULD be done... I made half coffee ice-cream and half vanilla ice-cream... I fashioned a couple dividers for my container so that it looked kinda like this -> ( || ) from the top and tapered down to look like this \ V / from the side (so the caramel doesn't pool at the bottom) then I poured the coffee icecream on one side, and vanilla on the other -> (C||V) then I poured chilled caramel in between the two dividers... then chill in the freezer for a short time... like 5 mins, to let the caramel just start to set... then, carefully, pull out the two dividers, and run your stirrer (chopstick, knife, w/e) back and forth across the three flavors so that your caramel goes from this -> || to looking like this -> {{ ...ish With these changes, it was DELICIOUS aaannnd Accurate! of course, after it hardened in the freezer, I served this with a little more caramel drizzle on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Amazing! I made this for a party at work once and everyone loved it! Except for the anti-coffee drinkers. I used Gevalvia coffee grounds instead of instant coffee. These grounds are so fine that it didn't affect the texture, but added tremendously to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I needed a quick ice cream recipe for a Church social and this one looked good. Everybody who tried some had nothing but wonderful things to say about this ice cream. Thank you for posting this on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Oh my gosh! So delicious!! I added crushed Heath Bar to this recipe - coffee, caramel, and Heath Bar, you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Simply amazing. It took a few days to set up for me - which might have been my ice cream machine more than anything - but even at a soft serve consistency, it was hands-down the most delicious ice cream I've ever made. The caramel is absolutely optional, and is awesome with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
So delicious! I warmed the milk with the sugar, which it does not say to do, but I wanted the sugar totally dissolved. (I used splenda blends and didn't taste the after taste. Just wanted to keep the calorie count a little lower there because I went to town on the caramel!) I had a minor problem with the caramel swirl - you don't want to put it directly into the ice cream machine because it will melt, so the best way to handle it is as directed - layer ice cream and caramel. I used Sander's Butterscotch Caramel, which is kind of pricey and not available everywhere, but the taste is supreme. Next time I will layer, swirl, layer, swirl, instead of loading it and then swirling. I had some globs of caramel instead of a lovely swirl throughout. I also, will not refrigerate the caramel before using it in this ice cream. Either it will be new, or it will be room temp!! All in all, it was wonderful!! I wanted to make it again immediately as soon as it was gone, but am showing restraint and will wait a few days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I used less sugar the second time and it was equally good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
So good! Didn't change a thing. A house full of ice cream lovers ate in silence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
FANTASTIC!! This recipe is so good. The flavors are so good together. My only regret, my ice cream maker only makes two quarts at a time! The kids loved it too! I used the Smucker's "Hot Carmel" flavor ice cream topping because it's the taste of real butter carmel. (Do not heat it for this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR8PL8TS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I changed the ingredients a bit...1% organic milk, 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half and then did half splenda/half sugar to make it a bit healthier. ;) The ice cream was yummy but had a bitter coffee aftertaste for hours even from just tasting it. Not sure if it was the brand coffee granules or what but I almost had heartburn from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States