Caramel Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a delicious caramel icing recipe. I used skim milk in place of heavy cream, and it didn't seem to make any difference. I also added 2 t vanilla after it cooled a little to give it a rich caramel flavor. Make sure you cool the sauce before beating in the sugar, and like others have said, make this when you're ready to use it. If it gets too thick, just beat it until it's usable. The end result is a thick, wonderful icing that I used on a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Tastes really wonderful, but was much too thick. I thinned it with a little water and it was really good on a pumpkin sheet cake :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
instead of brown sugar, I have used golden (lighter yellow) sugar. Tip: Start making this only when your baked good is ready to be "iced". I started it too early, and it was almost like modeling clay onto my cake that I had made, but it is good. Went well with the Holiday spice bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This icing is super easy to make and tastes okay but it just doesn't really taste much like caramel. I think next time I'll add vanilla or something. Definitely make it right before you're going to put it on cake. I baked mine in an 8x11 glass dish. When it cooled slightly I poked holes in the cake so the icing would seep down in. I did only use 1 cup of confectioner's sugar and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This icing has been used every time I have made the Banana Cake X and freezes so well. Kathleen Gex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Yummmm! I used whole milk instead of cream and it worked fine. I added a little more milk and a little less powdered sugar to thin it out to what I consider 'icing' consistency. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because the powdered sugar clumped a little on me when I added it. Seems like it calls to add it at the wrong time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent icing, excellent! I found, though, that two cups of powdered sugar was too much, so I make it with less. The last time I used a cup. I have an applesauce cake in the oven now (by Corwynn Darkholme--which is a delightful cake), and I'm going to try the icing again with only half a cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The recipe as is was way too thick and lumpy. I added 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cream and about 1/3 cup cream cheese during the mixing process after the caramel had cooled. I used it to frost a Devil's food cake and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I hate changing recipes but desperate to save a chocolate cake I was taking to a special pot luck gatering that had risen way too high and unevenly I searched for a caramel icing recipe and found this one. I made this using only one cup confectioners and very careful spooned this over my cake after leveling the top. When it cooled I was able to frost with my fluffy chocolate frosting and the result was amazing! It saved my day. It did require two batches of caramel icing but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Went well with the cold pound cake recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States