Caramel-Fudge Turtle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
There is an error in the recipe - it should be one 1 stick of butter, not 1 cup. As I didn't catch this until after we started baking the cookies, they were a total failure as they melted all over the pan. I was disappointed since I "trusted" Betty Crocker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe only gets two stars because all you can taste is the sugar cookie base. Very disappointing. This is not the way to go if you are looking for a 'turtle' treat. In addition, I found that the caramel and fudge would not 'set', even though I followed the recipe exactly, and the topping slid off the (cooled) cookie, creating quite the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This cookie is awesome!!!!! I am not a big sugar cookie fan but I cant stop eating these!!! I wish I had enough caramel to dip the whole cookie in....haha. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Getting the carmel to set was impossible. The idea is great but the outcome is not worth the hassle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very, very, very good. These are kind of messy but that is half the fun of eating them. I made these during christmas and they stand out in a crowd of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Let me start by saying I love al things Turtle. However, in this recipe I did not enjoy the actual cookie. I thougth the process was simple and the end product was very pretty. Great for parties etc, very impressive look. The low rating was due to the cookie. The mix is not a quality product. It tastes like a cheap shortcut. I recommend sticking with the dipping and fudge technique, but do not use the mix. Make your own or get ready made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rika Wiersig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I used melted caramel bits and drizzled it on top. I sprinkled ground up heath bars on top. They were pretty good. They got rav reviews by others, but I thought they were too sweet. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I loved this it may have taken a little while but it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have made these many times, but I wouldn't use a packaged cookie mix, I make my own from scratch. Nothing tastes better than from scratch. If you are in a pinch and want a fancy cookie, I guess this would be the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was disappointed the cookie didn't even taste like a sugar cookie after adding that much butter. I pulled the first sheet of cookies out of the oven two minutes early, because the edges were all brown and crispy. After cooling the oven to 350, I baked the rest for about 3 min. longer than the directions said, and that worked better. If you're using a dark pan, definitely decrease the temp. The cookies did not keep a nice shape. They flattened out. I'd say that's my fault. I followed the suggestion on the package for softening the butter. It said to put one stick of butter in the microwave for 10-15 seconds. I put two sticks in for 10 sec. They seemed to be softened, not melted, but I can't think of any other reason the cookies flattened. 12 caramels weren't enough for all of the cookies, but I may just have spread it on thick. So disappointing for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States