Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This was delicious - just what I was looking for to top off a not-too0sweet spice cake. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Great recipe!!! The perfect caramel frosting for just about anything!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Excellent! I used it to top a plain boxed cake mix. I served lite vanilla ice cream. My desert was a real hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I used this for glaze on the southern praline pecan cake from this site. It tasted wonderful. Did not thicken much at all even to glaze consistency so I added confectioners sugar to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I used this recipe (minus the nuts) to drizzle onto some "Banana Banana Bread" for dessert tonight and it was a big hit. Rather than allowing this recipe to thicken for frosting the banana bread, I stirred the ingredients in while still hot and liquidy. I also added some Banana liqueur in addition to vanilla, in same quantity as vanilla, to help the flavor go with the bread. Topped with whipped cream, it was a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XSarenkaX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Very, very tasty! I used it on a 9"x13" pineapple cake and it was just the right amount of topping. It set up firmly and is the perfect texture, not too sticky-gooey to cut but not grainy either. Very simple to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This tasted like brown sugar fudge: everyone thought so! It also has a sweet aroma. I followed the directions exactly. The first time I beat the frosting for 2 minutes. As soon as it left the pan and hit the cake it 'set', so I had to 'pat' it on in chunks. The second time, I beat it 1 1/2 minutes: it poured down my Pumpkin bundt cake and set very nicely in a thick glaze. Don't be fooled by the liquid/honey consistancy: it will start to set as soon as it leaves the hot pan. The only reason I gave it four stars, not five, is that it cracked and crumbled when the cake was cut. It was easy and very VERY yummy.... I'll make it again, I'm just not to sure for what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I use this as a glaze on an apple bundt cake -- it's perfect. Sweet, but not too sweet. I'd imagine it'd be great on any spiced tea cake. It does crack a little when you cut the cake -- use a sharp, large knife, if help to reduce the damage to its appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I don't know if I should give the recipe and 3 or me because It was way to runny and most of it ended up in the pan Will try again to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was the perfect frosting for my yellow pudding box cake. I needed something quick and easy for Christmas and this did the trick. My entire family just loved it. Thanks alot Beth. I searched forever to find an easy and delicious recipe and this was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States