Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This has a great caramel taste that really enhanced a cake that I made. When you start this frosting, make sure you have everything ready and your cake cooled. This frosting does set up very quickly, so you don’t have too long before it starts to get thick. I used it to top ‘Two ingredient Pumpkin Cake’ another AR recipe, and it was delicious. This was more than enough frosting to frost a Bundt® cake with some to spare as it filled in the middle of the cake. Once the frosting sets, it has a dried appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yes I try this recipe on my pound cake and my family enjoy it.They said that was the best caramel icing that I made!!! I LOVED IT and I will be making it again so if anyone one want to make a good caramel icing please try this one.... THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great recipe- but I had the opposite problem that other commenters did: It set up REALLY fast, and was much more of a frosting than a glaze. Didn't make enough to frost a 3 layer cake, and was too thick to spread down the sides. However, just used it on the top- and it was Amazing! Put it on the Pecan Pie cake from Pintrest. I think maybe I beat it too long, and that might be why it got so much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was wonderful. I used it with a boxed Butter Pecan mix to which I added a box of Instant Butterscotch Pudding mix and 1 extra egg. Because I was a little concerned about clumping I added an extra 1/2 Tbl of butter and a little extra vanilla. Poured it right on to the cake and spread it with a spreader kept in simmering water. When it got tough to spread I hit it with a hair dryer, set to high, to warm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I use this glaze over Plum Bread (it's actually a cake....recipe is on this site) and it is one of our family's favorites!! You have to try this combo.....tastes like a caramel apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
wonderful, I doubled it for a sheet cake. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I had no problem with the icing not setting up. It was simple and required very few ingredients. I have been trying to find a recipe for caramel icing like my Nannaw used to make. She never used confectioners sugar and just tossed her ingredients in a saucepan and knew when it was ready. This is very close to her icing. My only suggestion is that you double it to have plenty of coverage of your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I made this as written... It was amazing! I poured it over a German Apple Cake and OM Goodness, Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Used this on butter bundt cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piques
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This frosting is delicious. It is super easy and covers a cake beautifully. I paired it with Carols Pear Cake from this site. Yummmmm ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States