Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This was delicious - just what I was looking for to top off a not-too0sweet spice cake. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Excellent! I used it to top a plain boxed cake mix. I served lite vanilla ice cream. My desert was a real hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Great recipe!!! The perfect caramel frosting for just about anything!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I used this recipe (minus the nuts) to drizzle onto some "Banana Banana Bread" for dessert tonight and it was a big hit. Rather than allowing this recipe to thicken for frosting the banana bread, I stirred the ingredients in while still hot and liquidy. I also added some Banana liqueur in addition to vanilla, in same quantity as vanilla, to help the flavor go with the bread. Topped with whipped cream, it was a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XSarenkaX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Very, very tasty! I used it on a 9"x13" pineapple cake and it was just the right amount of topping. It set up firmly and is the perfect texture, not too sticky-gooey to cut but not grainy either. Very simple to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Quick, easy and tasty. Great over pound cake. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I use this as a glaze on an apple bundt cake -- it's perfect. Sweet, but not too sweet. I'd imagine it'd be great on any spiced tea cake. It does crack a little when you cut the cake -- use a sharp, large knife, if help to reduce the damage to its appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I used this over a butter pecan cake mix for a quick dessert and it was great. I followed the directions exactly and despite all of the steps, it's quite easy and well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Although my frosting did not set, I believe it was chef error, not the recipe. I used more milk than called for and definitely did not over-beat it. I did not mind though, as I got to lick up all the frosting that spilled over the sides of the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Made this over the "Best Brownies" from this site..... was very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States