Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I just made this for the Apple Butter Spice Cake from this site for my husband's birthday. I did not have an issue with it setting up quickly, but I used dark brown sugar as that's all I had, so maybe it had a little more moisture? Definitely more like a glaze than a frosting. The flavor is wonderful - in fact, I was thinking that it would be an excellent dip for apple slices as well! Too bad I had licked the pan clean before I thought of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is a great caramel glaze-type frosting and is fool-proof to make if you follow the times correctly. The next time I may increase the amounts by 50% just to make sure I have enough to cover my 9x13 fresh apple cake - once it's ready you need to spread it quickly. Thanks for sharing, great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this recipe non-dairy using margarine and soy milk. Tastes great! As per other reviews saying it set really quickly I only let it sit for 1-2 min instead of 5 before drizzling it on. It was liquidy but I put it on a Bundt cake so just makes it prettier- I'm not sure how it would work with a flat cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This tasted great - used on a butter pecan boxed cake mix. This is what I was looking for- but it really is more of a glaze- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Frosting was perfect! I read the reviews and was prepared for the frosting to set up quickly. I had some heavy whipping cream on standby ( but I think any milk will do). After I removed it from the heat and started blending (with hand mixer) I HAD to use the cream. But in the end it turned out perfect! Next time I will double the recipe. Did not quite make as much as I wanted for a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very yummy! I wanted to use it as a glaze for spice cookies, so I added a little more milk than it called for to ensure that it was thin enough to drizzle. It's delicious! It tastes like the inside of a pecan pie, and it goes wonderfully with my cookies. I only gave it 4 stars because it never hardened, but maybe that was because of the extra milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Like previous entry, I make this for my fresh apple cake... yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this without the pecans and it was exactly what I was looking for to go on the apple cake I made! It does cool quickly, so pour it on fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
a real caramel texture and flavor! great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States