Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I would agree with another review - it's a glaze, not a frosting. I have failed making cooked glazes/frostings in the past, so I was a little nervous to try. Turned out great! Oh mama was it good over a apple bundt cake. My only complaint is that it didn't ever really set up. I didn't care though. The cake was eatten the same day it was made. In the future I would make this to dip apples or drizzle over ice cream. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
"This cake is the bomb", a direct quote from my 5 yr old son. I drizzled this glaze immediately after it finished boiling for two minutes, over a bundt Black Magic cake from this site. It was so delicious, tasted just like the caramel sauce that used to come with the apple slices at a popular fast food chain. I love this chocolate cake recipe, but using this glaze took it up to a whole new level! I also posted a pic of the frosted cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had a nice buttery, caramel flavor and a smooth texture. Made this to top Spice Cake I from this site, since the spice cake was a little dry. I will definitely use this on other desserts as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used this frosting on banana bars. I beat it till it lost its shine then I poured it on warm bars. If you add maple favoring it would be just like the brown sugar icing on Casey's donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I used this with Banana Cake X. My family loves it so much! Everyone requests this for their birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very easy recipe, and good. I could forget the cake and eat the frosting with a spoon. :-) Thanks for the recipe - used it on a spice cake for my husband's birthday and he loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! I used it on top of a butter recipe box cake that had added chocolate kisses in the middle of the cake before baking. I made a bundt cake. I only added in middle of the cake ring before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yum! It was the perfect topping to Fresh Apple Cake II from this website. Made it for a church potluck. Since I noticed that people had said that it got a little hard, I added about 1 tsp extra butter when I made it. It was perfect! Just the right consistency after it set up on the cake. It seemed really gooey when I first put it on, and I thought "Oh well, caramel sauce is really good." But after a few hours, it had set up just perfect. I can't keep my hands off of it! Great flavor, great consistency, great amount for a topping. Definitely a keeper! I skipped the nuts, also, mostly out of economics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This has a great caramel taste that really enhanced a cake that I made. When you start this frosting, make sure you have everything ready and your cake cooled. This frosting does set up very quickly, so you don’t have too long before it starts to get thick. I used it to top ‘Two ingredient Pumpkin Cake’ another AR recipe, and it was delicious. This was more than enough frosting to frost a Bundt® cake with some to spare as it filled in the middle of the cake. Once the frosting sets, it has a dried appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States